The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2014 Press Release

24 Sep 2014

Wednesday, 24 September 2014. At today’s presentation ceremony of The Shaw Prize at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Honourable C Y Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China, presented the awards to the six Laureates.

After several months of deliberation, the international prize committee selected the Shaw Laureates and announced the results at the press conference on 27 May 2014.

Details of this year’s Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy
is awarded in one-half to

Daniel Eisenstein
Professor of Astronomy, Harvard University, USA
and the other half in equal shares to

Shaun Cole
Professor of Physics in the Institute for Computational Cosmology, Durham University, UK and

John A Peacock
Professor of Cosmology in the Institute for Astronomy, University of Edinburgh, UK

for their contributions to the measurements of features in the large-scale structure of galaxies used to constrain the cosmological model including baryon acoustic oscillations and redshift-space distortions.

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine
is awarded in equal shares to

Kazutoshi Mori
Professor at Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University, Japan and

Peter Walter
Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco, and
Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA

for their discovery of the Unfolded Protein Response of the endoplasmic reticulum, a cell signalling pathway that controls organelle homeostasis and quality of protein export in eukaryotic cells.

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to

George Lusztig
Abdun-Nur Professor of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

for his fundamental contributions to algebra, algebraic geometry, and representation theory, and for weaving these subjects together to solve old problems and reveal beautiful new connections.

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have recently achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each prize bearing a monetary award of one million US dollars. This is the eleventh year that the Prize
has been awarded.

Highlight of the 2014 ceremony will be released worldwide via satellite between Hong Kong time 2230–2300 (GMT 1430–1500). Photographs will be uploaded the same day at Hong Kong time 2230 (GMT 1430) on the website The ceremony programme will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl Channels on 27 September at Hong Kong time 2315–2345 and on 29 September at Hong Kong time 1900–1930 respectively.

24 September 2014   Hong Kong