The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2010 Press Invitation

21 Sep 2010

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony will be held in Hong Kong on Tuesday, 28 September 2010. You or your representative(s) are cordially invited to attend the event.

Details are as follows:

Date: 28 September 2010 (Tuesday)
Time: 6:00pm Press Registration & Briefing
6:15-7:25pm Cocktail Reception (interview & photo-taking at press zone)
7:25-8:30pm Award Presentation (* photo-taking at press zone only)
Venue: Grand Hall, New Wing, 3/F, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Officiating Guest:

The Honourable Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China, in the presence of Mr Run Run Shaw, Patron of the Prize, will officiate the ceremony.


Professor Chen-Ning Yang Chairman of the Board of Adjudicators
The Shaw Prize
Professor Jiansheng Chen Chairman of the Shaw Prize in
Astronomy Selection Committee
Professor Yuet-Wai Kan Chairman of the Shaw Prize in
Life Science and Medicine Selection Committee
Sir Michael Atiyah Chairman of the Shaw Prize in
Mathematical Sciences Selection Committee

Shaw Laureates in attendance: 

Astronomy Professor Charles L Bennett
Professor Lyman A Page Jr
Professor David N Spergel
Life Science and Medicine Professor David Julius
Mathematical Sciences Professor Jean Bourgain


* A press station for photo taking will be located in the Grand Hall, 45 meters (150 feet) away from the stage. Press members are advised to bring telephoto lenses and the necessary equipment.

* The duration of the excerpt news footage cannot exceed 3 minutes (the Award Presentation Ceremony will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl on 2 October at Hong Kong time 2300-2330 and on 9 October at Hong Kong time 1850-1920 respectively).

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd.:

Joanne Yik Tel: +852-2918 0901 / 9216 3710
Karen Sze Tel: +852-2918 0907 / 9613 4164


21 September 2010, Hong Kong