The Shaw Prize Award Ceremony 2022 Press Release

29 Sep 2022

Thursday, 29 September 2022. The virtual Shaw Prize 2022 Award Ceremony was held today and was livestreamed via the website, Facebook page as well as YouTube Channel of The Shaw Prize. At the ceremony, the Honourable Mr John Lee Ka-chiu, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China, sent a congratulatory message to the Shaw Laureates.

The Shaw Laureates were selected by the international prize committees and the results were announced at the press conference on 24 May 2022.

Details of the 2022 Shaw Laureates are as follows:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded in equal shares to

Lennart Lindegren
Professor Emeritus of Lund Observatory, Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics at Lund University, Sweden and

Michael Perryman
Adjunct Professor, School of Physics at University College Dublin, Ireland

for their lifetime contributions to space astrometry, and in particular for their role in the conception and design of the European Space Agency’s Hipparcos and Gaia missions.
Read More

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded in equal shares to

Paul A Negulescu
Senior Vice President and Site Head, San Diego Research, Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated, USA and

Michael J Welsh
Professor of Internal Medicine – Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine, Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurology, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics and Director of Pappajohn Biomedical Institute, University of Iowa, USA

for landmark discoveries of the molecular, biochemical, and functional defects underlying cystic fibrosis and the identification and development of medicines that reverse those defects and can treat most people affected by this disorder. Together, these discoveries and medicines are alleviating human suffering and saving lives. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded in equal shares to

Noga Alon
Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University, USA and Baumritter Professor Emeritus of Mathematics and Computer Science at Tel Aviv University, Israel and

Ehud Hrushovski
Merton Professor of Mathematical Logic, University of Oxford, UK

for their remarkable insights that have transformed, and continue to transform, modern geometry. Read More

The Shaw Prize was established under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002 to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have recently achieved significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This is the nineteenth year that the Prize has been awarded.