Award Presentation Ceremony 2016 Press Invitation

13 Sep 2016

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony will be held in Hong Kong on Tuesday, 27 September 2016. You or your representative(s) are cordially invited to attend the event. Details are as follows:

Date: 27 September 2016 (Tuesday)
Time: 6:00pm Press Registration & Briefing
6:15-7:25pm Guests Reception & Registration (interview & photo-taking at press zone only)
7:25-8:30pm Award Presentation (* photo-taking at press zone only)
Venue: Grand Hall, New Wing, 3/F, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Officiating Guests

The Honourable C Y Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China, will officiate the ceremony.


Professor Yuet-Wai Kan Council Member & Chairman of the Board of Adjudicators,
The Shaw Prize Foundation
Professor Peter Goldreich Chairman of the Shaw Prize in Astronomy Selection Committee
Professor Randy W Schekman Chairman of the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine Selection Committee
Professor John W Morgan Member of the Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences Selection Committee

Shaw Laureates in Attendance

Astronomy Professor Ronald W P Drever (Represented by Professor John L Drever)
Professor Kip S Thorne
Professor Rainer Weiss
Life Science and Medicine Professor Adrian P Bird
Professor Huda Y Zoghbi
Mathematical Sciences Professor Nigel J Hitchin

*       A press station for photo taking will be located in the Grand Hall, 45 meters (150 feet) away from the stage. Press members are advised to bring telephoto lenses and the necessary equipment.

The duration of the excerpt news footage cannot exceed 3 minutes (the Award Presentation Ceremony will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl on 1 October at Hong Kong time 2230–2300 and on 3 October at Hong Kong time 1900–1925 respectively).

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:

Joanne Yik Tel: 2918 0901 / 9216 3710

Invited by The Shaw Prize Foundation
Presented by Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd

13 September 2016  Hong Kong