Announcement Press Conference 2022 Press Release

24 May 2022

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded in equal shares to

Lennart Lindegren
Professor Emeritus of Lund Observatory, Department of Astronomy and Theoretical Physics at Lund University, Sweden and

Michael Perryman
Adjunct Professor, School of Physics at University College Dublin, Ireland

for their lifetime contributions to space astrometry, and in particular for their role in the conception and design of the European Space Agency’s Hipparcos and Gaia missions. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded in equal shares to

Paul A Negulescu
Senior Vice President and Site Head, San Diego Research, Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated, USA and

Michael J Welsh
Professor of Internal Medicine – Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine, Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurology, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics and Director of Pappajohn Biomedical Institute, University of Iowa, USA

for landmark discoveries of the molecular, biochemical, and functional defects underlying cystic fibrosis and the identification and development of medicines that reverse those defects and can treat most people affected by this disorder. Together, these discoveries and medicines are alleviating human suffering and saving lives. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded in equal shares to

Noga Alon
Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University, USA and Baumritter Professor Emeritus of Mathematics and Computer Science at Tel Aviv University, Israel and

Ehud Hrushovski
Merton Professor of Mathematical Logic, University of Oxford, UK

for their remarkable contributions to discrete mathematics and model theory with interaction notably with algebraic geometry, topology and computer sciences. Read More

Tuesday, 24 May 2022. At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2022. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This will be the nineteenth year of the awards.

24 May 2022 Hong Kong