Announcement Press Conference 2021 Press Release

1 Jun 2021

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded in equal shares to

Victoria M Kaspi
Professor of Physics and Director of McGill Space Institute, McGill University, Canada and

Chryssa Kouveliotou
Professor and Chair of the Department of Physics at George Washington University, USA

for their contributions to our understanding of magnetars, a class of highly magnetized neutron stars that are linked to a wide range of spectacular, transient astrophysical phenomena. Through the development of new and precise observational techniques, they confirmed the existence of neutron stars with ultra-strong magnetic fields and characterized their physical properties. Their work has established magnetars as a new and important class of astrophysical objects. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded to

Scott D Emr
Frank HT Rhodes Class of 1956 Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics and Director of the Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology, Cornell University, USA

for the landmark discovery of the ESCRT (Endosomal Sorting Complex Required for Transport) pathway, which is essential in diverse processes involving membrane biology, including cell division, cell-surface receptor regulation, viral dissemination, and nerve axon pruning. These processes are central to life, health and disease. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded in equal shares to

Jean-Michel Bismut
Emeritus Professor, Mathematics Department, Université Paris-Saclay, France and

Jeff Cheeger
Silver Professor of Mathematics at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, USA

for their remarkable insights that have transformed, and continue to transform, modern geometry. Read More

Tuesday, 1 June 2021. At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2021. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This will be the eighteenth year of the awards.

1 June 2021 Hong Kong