Announcement Press Conference 2019 Press Release

21 May 2019

Tuesday, 21 May 2019.  At today’s press conference in Hong Kong, The Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2019. Information was posted on the website at Hong Kong time 15:30 (GMT 07:30).

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This will be the sixteenth year that the Prize has been awarded and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, 25 September 2019 in Hong Kong.

The Shaw Laureates

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded to

Edward C Stone
David Morrisroe Professor of Physics and Vice Provost for Special Projects, California Institute of Technology (Caltech), USA

for his leadership in the Voyager project, which has, over the past four decades, transformed our understanding of the four giant planets and the outer solar system, and has now begun to explore interstellar space. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded to

Maria Jasin
Member, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) and Professor, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Cornell University, USA

for her work showing that localized double strand breaks in DNA stimulate recombination in mammalian cells. This seminal work was essential for and led directly to the tools enabling editing at specific sites in mammalian genomes. Read More

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences is awarded to

Michel Talagrand
Former Senior Researcher, French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France

for his work on concentration inequalities, on suprema of stochastic processes and on rigorous results for spin glasses. Read More


Established in November 2002 under the auspices of the late Mr Run Run Shaw, the Prize honours individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications and whose works have resulted in a positive and profound impacts on mankind.

The Shaw Prize is an international award managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong. Mr Shaw has also founded two charities, The Shaw Foundation Hong Kong and The Sir Run Run Shaw Charitable Trust, both dedicated to the promotion of education, scientific and technological research, medical and welfare services, and culture and the arts.

23 May 2019 Hong Kong (Revised)