跳至主內容

2020年 天文學獎

羅傑 • 布蘭福德

以表彰他對理論天體物理學的根本性貢獻,特別是在活躍星系核的基本理解、相對論性噴流的形成和準直、黑洞的能量提取機制和激波中的粒子加速及其相關的輻射機制。

 

得獎人簡介

羅傑 • 布蘭福德

貢獻

2020年度邵逸夫天文學獎頒予羅傑 • 布蘭福德 (Roger D Blandford) 以表彰他對理論天體物理學的根本性貢獻,特別是在活躍星系核的基本理解、相對論性噴流的形成和準直、黑洞的能量提取機制和激波中的粒子加速及其相關的輻射機制。羅傑 • 布蘭福德是美國史丹福大學文理學院盧克•布魯森講座教授暨SLAC國家加速器實驗室教授。

羅傑 • 布蘭福德是當代最出色的全方位理論天體物理學家之一。他關注極為廣泛的天體物理學問題,作出了重大貢獻,堪稱為一位罕有的「全才」科學家。他是引力透鏡效應模擬和詮析方面的先驅。他對來自費米太空船的γ射線數據的分析,和引力波的研究,均有建樹。他在研究領域最重要的貢獻,是對活躍星系核及其相對論性噴流的基本理解。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

 

羅傑 • 布蘭福德 (Roger D Blandford)

羅傑 • 布蘭福德  (Roger D Blandford) 在1949年於英國林肯郡 格蘭瑟姆出生,目前是美國史丹福大學文理學院盧克 • 布魯森講座 教授暨SLAC國家加速器實驗室教授。1970年於英國劍橋大學取得 理論物理學學士學位後,在1974年於該校取得博士學位。他曾是 英國劍橋大學抹大拉書院查爾斯 • 金斯萊附隨院士 (1972–1973) 及聖約翰書院研究員 (1973–1976)。其後,他加入美國加州理工學院 工作,先後擔任助理教授 (1976–1979)、教授 (1979–1989) 和理查德 • 切斯 • 托爾曼理論天文物理學教授 (1989–2004)。他在2003至2013年於美國史丹福大學出任科維理粒子天體物理學與宇宙學研究所 (KIPAC) 陳丕宏和戚淑英講座所長 (2003–2005)。他也是SLAC國家 加速器實驗室粒子物理學及天體物理學學部KIPAC分部主管 (2005–2013)。羅傑 • 布蘭福德是美國國家科學院、美國人文與科學院和英國倫敦皇家學會院士。

 

2020年5月21日  香港

Skip to main content

The 2020 Prize in Astronomy

Roger D Blandford

for his foundational contributions to theoretical astrophysics, especially concerning the fundamental understanding of active galactic nuclei, the formation and collimation of relativistic jets, the energy extraction mechanism from black holes, and the acceleration of particles in shocks and their relevant radiation mechanisms.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Roger D Blandford

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 2020 is awarded to Roger D Blandford, Luke Blossom Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences and Professor at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University, USA for his foundational contributions to theoretical astrophysics, especially concerning the fundamental understanding of active galactic nuclei, the formation and collimation of relativistic jets, the energy extraction mechanism from black holes, and the acceleration of particles in shocks and their relevant radiation mechanisms.
 
Roger D Blandford is one of the most outstanding all-round theoretical astrophysicists of his generation. He has made major contributions to an extremely broad spectrum of astrophysical problems, arguably placing him among the rare group of “universal” scientists. He has been one of the leaders in the modelling and interpretation of gravitational lensing. He has contributed to the interpretation of γ-ray data from the Fermi spacecraft and to the study of gravitational waves. His most important research contributions deal with the fundamental understanding of active galactic nuclei (AGN) and their relativistic jets.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

About the Laureate

 

Roger D Blandford

Roger D Blandford was born in 1949 in Grantham, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom and is currently Luke Blossom Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences and Professor at SLAC National Accelerator Labouratory, Stanford University, USA. He obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Theoretical Physics and his PhD from Cambridge University, UK in 1970 and 1974 respectively. He was a Charles Kingsley Bye-Fellow at Magdalene College (1972–1973) and Research Fellow at St John’s College (1973–1976), Cambridge University. He then joined California Institute of Technology, USA, where he was successively Assistant Professor (1976–1979), Professor (1979–1989) and Richard Chace Tolman Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics (1989–2004). He was the Pehong and Adele Chen Director of the Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (KIPAC) (2003–2013) and Professor of Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (2003–2005) at Stanford University, USA. He was also a KIPAC Division Head, PPA Directorate at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (2005–2013). He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Fellow of the Royal Society of London. 

 

21 May 2020    Hong Kong