跳至主内容

2016年 天文学奖

罗奈尔特.德雷弗,
基普.索恩,
雷纳.韦斯

以表彰他们对「激光干涉仪重力波观测站」LIGO的构思和设计。LIGO最近首次直接观测到重力波,为天文探索开创了一个新方法,而首先侦测到的非凡事例为两个星级质量的黑洞合并。

 

得奖人简介

罗奈尔特.德雷弗,<br/>基普.索恩,<br/>雷纳.韦斯

贡献

2016年度邵逸夫天文学奖平均颁予罗奈尔特.德雷弗 (Ronald W P Drever)、基普.索恩 (Kip S Thorne) 及雷纳.韦斯 (Rainer Weiss),以表彰他们对「激光干涉仪重力波观测站」LIGO 的构思和设计。LIGO最近首次直接观测到重力波,为天文探索开创了一个新方法。而首先侦测到的非凡事例为两个星级质量的黑洞合并。

 

这发现於2016年公布[1],被誉为天文学上最有意义的发现之一,其重要性可从多个不同的角度观看。简而言之,以前只能通过电磁 辐射或高能粒子观察宇宙,现在LIGO却提供了第三个方法。因此,LIGO创建了一个全新的天文学分支,在完全缺乏其他天文信号的 情况下,都能让我们观察和研究天文现象。这项新方法有著革命性的影响,犹如射电天文学当年出现,脉冲星和类星体才跟著被发现。

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人获奖介绍

Ronald Drever, Kip Thorne and Rainer Weiss are the primary figures responsible for the conception and design of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO). LIGO’s recent direct detection of gravitational waves represents the first probe of physics in the limit of strong gravity, where massive objects moving at velocities close to that of light drive nonlinear waves in spacetime.

 

LIGO’s discovery ranks among the most significant ever made in astronomy, and its importance can be viewed from a number of distinct perspectives. Most simply, LIGO has provided a third strand to the means by which we can observe the universe, in addition to electromagnetic radiation or energetic particles. LIGO has thus established an entirely new branch of astronomy, allowing us to study phenomena where signals from existing astronomical messengers are entirely lacking. The impact of this new tool seems likely to be as revolutionary as, for example, the opening up of radio astronomy and the subsequent discovery of pulsars and quasars.

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人简介

Ronald W P Drever

罗奈尔特.德雷弗
(Ronald W P Drever) (1931 - 2017)

罗奈尔特.德雷弗 (Ronald W P Drever) 1931年出生於英国格拉斯哥,为美国加州理工学院物理学荣休教授。1953年於英国格拉斯哥大学取得 理学士学位,并於1958年於该校取得自然哲学博士学位。他在加州理工学院分别担任客座硏究员(1977)、教授(1979–2002)和荣休教授(2002–)。他是美国人文与科学院院士及爱丁堡皇家学会院士。

 


2016年5月31日  香港

 

德雷弗教授於二零一七年三月七日在英国爱丁堡离世。

 

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

Kip S Thorne

基普.索恩 (Kip S Thorne)

基普.索恩 (Kip S Thorne) 1940年出生於美国犹他州洛根市,为 美国加州理工学院费曼理论物理学荣休教授。1962年於加州理工学院取得物理学学士学位,并於1965年於美国普林斯顿大学取得物理学博士学位。1966年回到加州理工学院,最初担任研究员,1967年至1970年为副教授,1970年为理论物理学教授,1981年至1991年为威廉.凯南讲座教授,1991年至2009年为费曼理论物理学讲座教授,自2009年起为费曼理论物理学荣休讲座教授。他是美国国家科学院院士及美国人文与科学院院士。


2016年5月31日  香港

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

Rainer Weiss

雷纳.韦斯 (Rainer Weiss)

雷纳.韦斯 (Rainer Weiss) 1932年出生於德国柏林,现为美国麻省 理工学院物理学荣休教授。1955年和1962年分别於美国麻省理工学院取得物理学学士和物理学博士学位。他曾於美国塔夫茨大学分别担任导师(1960–1961)和物理学助理教授(1961–1962),之后於1962年至1964年期间在美国普林斯顿大学担任物理学研究员。随后,他加入美国麻省理工学院物理系任教,於1964年至1967年为助理教授,1967年至1973年为副教授,1973年至2001年为教授,自2001年起为荣休教授。他是美国国家科学院院士及美国人文与科学院院士。


2016年5月31日  香港

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

得奖人特写

 

2016年度邵逸夫天文学奖讲座

"Einstein's Gift to Us: Gravitational Wave Astronomy" 由基普.索恩教授及雷纳.韦斯教授主讲

2016年度邵逸夫奖公开论坛

「2016邵逸夫奬得奬者 — 挑战、寻乐在科研」

Skip to main content

The 2016 Prize in Astronomy

Ronald W P Drever,
Kip S Thorne,
Rainer Weiss

for conceiving and designing the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), whose recent direct detection of gravitational waves opens a new window in astronomy, with the  first remarkable discovery being the merger of a pair of stellar mass black holes.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Ronald W P Drever,<br/>Kip S Thorne,<br/>Rainer Weiss

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy for 2016 is awarded in equal shares to Ronald W P Drever, Kip S Thorneand Rainer Weiss for conceiving and designing the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), whose recent direct detection of gravitational waves opens a new window in astronomy, with the first remarkable discovery being the merger of a pair of stellar mass black holes.
  
The discovery reported in 2016 [1] ranks among the most significant ever made in astronomy, and its importance can be viewed from a number of distinct points of view. Most simply, LIGO has added a third strand to the means by which we can observe the universe, which could previously only be carried out via electromagnetic radiation or energetic particles. LIGO has thus established an entirely new branch of astronomy, allowing us to study phenomena where signals from existing astronomical messengers are entirely lacking. The impact of this new tool seems likely to be as revolutionary as, for example, the opening up of radio astronomy and its discovery of pulsars and quasars.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

Ronald Drever, Kip Thorne and Rainer Weiss are the primary figures responsible for the conception and design of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO). LIGO’s recent direct detection of gravitational waves represents the first probe of physics in the limit of strong gravity, where massive objects moving at velocities close to that of light drive nonlinear waves in spacetime.

 

LIGO’s discovery ranks among the most significant ever made in astronomy, and its importance can be viewed from a number of distinct perspectives. Most simply, LIGO has provided a third strand to the means by which we can observe the universe, in addition to electromagnetic radiation or energetic particles. LIGO has thus established an entirely new branch of astronomy, allowing us to study phenomena where signals from existing astronomical messengers are entirely lacking. The impact of this new tool seems likely to be as revolutionary as, for example, the opening up of radio astronomy and the subsequent discovery of pulsars and quasars.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Ronald W P Drever

Ronald W P Drever (1931 - 2017)

Ronald W P Drever was born in 1931 in Bishopton, Glasgow, UK and is Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech), USA. He received his Bachelor of Science in 1953 and his PhD in Natural Philosophy in 1958 from the University of Glasgow, UK. He served as a Visiting Associate in 1977 and was successively Professor (1979–2002) and Professor Emeritus (2002– ) at Caltech. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Royal Society of Edinburgh.    

31 May 2016    Hong Kong


Professor Drever passed away in Edinburgh, United Kingdom, on 7 March 2017.

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Kip S Thorne

Kip S Thorne

Kip S Thorne was born in 1940 in Logan, Utah, USA and is the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus, at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech), USA. He received his Bachelor of Science in Physics from Caltech in 1962 and his PhD in Physics from Princeton University, USA in 1965. He returned to Caltech, first as a Research Fellow (1966–1967), and then successively as Associate Professor (1967–1970), Professor in Theoretical Physics in 1970, the William R Kenan, Jr. Professor (1981–1991), the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics (1991–2009), and the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus (2009– ). He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 


31 May 2016    Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Simon D M White

Rainer Weiss

Rainer Weiss was born in 1932 in Berlin, Germany and is currently Professor Emeritus in Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA. He received his Bachelor of Science in Physics in 1955 and his PhD in Physics in 1962 from MIT. He was an Instructor and Assistant Professor of Physics at Tufts University, USA from 1960 to 1961 and from 1961 to 1962 respectively. He served as Research Associate in Physics at Princeton University, USA from 1962 to 1964. He then joined MIT, where in the Department of Physics he was successively Assistant Professor (1964–1967), Associate Professor (1967–1973), Professor (1973–2001) and Professor Emeritus (2001– ). He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


31 May 2016    Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Astronomy 2016

"Einstein's Gift to Us: Gravitational Wave Astronomy" by Professor Kip S Thorne and Professor Rainer Weiss

The Shaw Prize Public Forum 2016

“Meet The Shaw Laureates 2016 – the Challenges and the Joy of Doing Science”