Announcement Press Conference 2023

30 May 2023 , 3:00pm
The Ballroom, Shaw Studios, 201 Wan Po Road, Tseung Kwan O, N.T., Hong Kong
Press Kit



Welcome Address by Professor Kenneth Young,
Chair of The Shaw Prize Council

We are pleased to bring to you the Shaw Prize Awards for 2023, which is conducted normally, after various special arrangements in the past three years.

The Shaw Prize was established in the year 2002 by Mr Run Run Shaw with the support and help of Mrs Mona Shaw, and is now managed under the Shaw Prize Foundation.

The Shaw Prize has been awarded annually for distinguished and significant achievements in the three scientific disciplines, namely, Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1.2 million. The Prize was first awarded in 2004, making this year the twentieth cycle of the Prize.

The Shaw Prize is an international award, dedicated to honouring individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.

Recipients of the Prize are all internationally acclaimed scholars and scientists. Thanks to the effort of members of the Selection Committees and colleagues of the Foundation, the Prize has built up its prestige worldwide within a short period of time.

We look forward to greater success of the Prize in the years to come.

Announcement of The Shaw Laureates 2023