Announcement Press Conference 2018

14 May 2018 , 3:00 pm
Magnolia and Camomile Rooms



Welcome Address by Professor Kenneth Young,
Chair of The Shaw Prize Council

Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. Welcome to this Press Conference, and thank you all for helping to bring the announcement of the Shaw Prize 2018 to the world at large.

The Shaw Prize was established in the year 2002. Through all these years, the whole endeavour has moved vigorously forward under the leadership of Mrs Mona Shaw. Sadly she is no longer with us. We miss her and her boundless energy, as we miss Mr Run Run Shaw; but there is nothing better we can do than to carry on with their lofty vision. Those of us who have been involved in this enterprise are committed to doing so, under the overall direction of the Shaw Prize Foundation.

I think most of those present know the history. Since 2004 the Prize has been awarded annually for distinguished and significant achievements in the three scientific disciplines, namely, Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1.2 million.

The Shaw Prize is an international award, dedicated to honouring individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.

Recipients of the Prize are all internationally acclaimed scholars and scientists. Thanks to the effort of members of the Selection Committees and colleagues of the Foundation, the Prize has built up its prestige worldwide within a short period of time.

We look forward to greater success of the Prize in the years to come.

Announcement of The Shaw Laureates Press Conference 2018