Announcement Press Conference 2014

27 May 2014 , 3:00 pm
Magnolia and Camomile Rooms



Welcome Address by Professor Chen-Ning Yang,
Member of The Shaw Prize Council

Ladies and gentlemen. Welcome to this press conference, the eleventh annual Shaw Prize Press Conference, to announce the Shaw Prize Laureates for the year 2014.

In the year 2002 Mr Run Run Shaw established The Shaw Prize to promote and foster scientific research worldwide that will help to benefit mankind and to broaden human intellectual horizons. Each year one Shaw Prize is given in each of the following three scientific disciplines: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1 million.

Up to last year thirty-one Shaw Prizes have been awarded. The great achievements honoured by these Shaw Prizes bear witness to the rapid progress of scientific research in the twenty-first century. They are also a lasting tribute to Mr Run Run Shaw’s foresight and generosity.

This year we are happy to honour six Laureates of the three 2014 Shaw Prizes. Their names together with citations will now be read in three languages: English, Putonghua and Cantonese.

Announcement of The Shaw Laureates Press Conference 2014