Announcement Press Conference 2013

28 May 2013 , 3:00 pm
Magnolia and Camomile Rooms



Welcome Address by Professor Kenneth Young,
Member of The Shaw Prize Council

Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. Thank you for coming to this event, to help bring the announcement of the Shaw Prize 2013 to the world at large.

The Shaw Prize was established in 2002. It consists of three awards: namely, the Prize in Astronomy, the Prize in Life Science and Medicine, and the Prize in Mathematical Sciences. Each prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1 million. The Prize is awarded annually, first in 2004, making this year the tenth anniversary of the Prize.

The Shaw Prize is established to honour those individuals, without regard to race, nationality, gender or religious belief, who have made remarkable achievements in these areas, and who have contributed exceptionally to the advancement of civilization and the well-being of mankind.

Recipients of the Prize are all internationally acclaimed scholars and scientists. We are grateful that members of the Selection Committees and the Board of Adjudicators have contributed in an enthusiastic and professional manner, to ensure that the selection and adjudication processes are of the highest standard; these rigorous processes and the excellent selections have built up the prestige of the Prize worldwide, even in the short space of just ten years.

We look forward to greater success of the Prize in the years to come.

Announcement of The Shaw Laureates Press Conference 2013