Announcement Press Conference 2009

16 Jun 2009 , 3:00 pm
Magnolia and Camomile Rooms



Welcome Address by Professor Lin Ma,
Member of Shaw Prize Council

The Shaw Prize was established in 2002 and was first awarded in 2004. Since then the Prize has been awarded annually for distinguished and significant achievements in Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1 million.

The Shaw Prize is an international award, dedicated to honour individuals who have made significant contributions to the progress of civilization and the wellbeing of humankind. Recipients of the Prize are all internationally-acclaimed scholars and scientists. This year marks the sixth anniversary of the awarding of the Prize. Thanks to the effort of members of the Selection Committees and colleagues of the Foundation, the Prize has built up its prestige worldwide within a short period of time. We look forward to greater success of the Prize in the years to come.

Announcement of The Shaw Laureates Press Conference 2009