Announcement Press Conference 2004

27 May 2004 , 3:00 pm
Magnolia and Camomile Rooms



Welcome Address by Professor Lin Ma,
Member of Shaw Prize Council

Mr Run Run Shaw once said: “I believe that the greatness of mankind lies in their ability to pursue, disseminate and enrich knowledge, to open up new frontiers of knowledge for the well-being of mankind”. This is also the purpose of establishing The Shaw Prize.

Preparation for The Shaw Prize began in 2002. Under the full support of Ms Mona Fong, Chairperson of the Shaw Foundation Hong Kong, with the distinguished engineering by Professor Chen Ning Yang, Chair of the Board of Adjudicators, and with the wisdom of our Council members, Professor Kenneth Young and Professor S W Tam, we are going to announce the names of the 2005 Shaw Prize Laureates.

The Shaw Prize is an international award which honours individuals for achieving distinguished breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications, who have made outstanding contributions in culture and the arts, or who in other domains have achieved excellence. The award is dedicated to furthering societal progress, enhancing quality of life, and enriching humanity’s spiritual civilization. Preference will be given to individuals whose significant work was recently achieved, or whose work’s profound impact becomes increasingly apparent. The above is the principle of award and we have four Laureates for 2005.

I believe, with support from all of you, we can strive to achieve the aim of The Shaw Prize, that by enriching knowledge and increasing contribution, the quality of life across the world can be improved.