Skip to main content

The Shaw Prize 2021 Award Ceremony Will be Held Online on 28 October 2021

In light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and its rippling effects on travel and event-related restrictions, we have decided to move the Award Ceremony for The Shaw Prize 2021 to our online platforms again, presenting all our participants an exciting virtual experience for another year. The Ceremony is scheduled for 28 October 2021, Thursday, 18:00 Hong Kong Time (1000 GMT), and you are cordially invited.

 

The pandemic has shed light on the power of scientific and innovative research, and it is this very conviction that lays the cornerstone of the Shaw Prize. This year, we are celebrating the 18th year of the award and are proud to welcome five Laureates to the Shaw Family. A stage that allows them to receive their prize safely at home is set to honour their fundamental contributions to their respective fields. Please save the date, and join us on a virtual celebration of scientific excellence. Details are as follows:

 

Shaw Prize Award Ceremony 2021

Date: 28 October 2021 (Thursday)

Time: 18:00 HKT (1000 GMT)

 

The Ceremony will be livestreamed on:

The Shaw Prize website: www.shawprize.org

The Shaw Prize Facebook page: www.facebookcom/ShawPrize

The Shaw Prize YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/user/ShawPrize

The Shaw Prize Weibo: www.weibo.com/shawprize

 

 

The Shaw Laureates 2021:

Astronomy

Victoria M Kaspi

Chryssa Kouveliotou

(McGill University)

(George Washington University)

Life Science and Medicine

Scott D Emr

(Cornell University)

Mathematical Sciences

Jean–Michel Bismut

Jeff Cheeger

(Université Paris–Saclay)

(New York University)

 

For more details, please refer to the Programme of the Ceremony.

 

The Shaw Prize Lectures 2021 will follow on the day after the Ceremony. Three Lectures (Lectures on The Shaw Prize of Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences 2021) given by the respective Laureates will be hosted by universities in Hong Kong online at different time slots to facilitate participation. Details are as follow.

 

The Shaw Lectures 2021

Date: 29 October 2021 (Friday)

Shaw Lecture in Astronomy

Time: 09:30 HKT (0130 GMT)

Learn more

Hosted by The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Shaw Lecture in Life Science and Medicine

Time: 09:00 HKT (0100 GMT) 

Learn more

Hosted by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

 

Shaw Lecture in Mathematical Sciences

Time: 19:00 HKT (1100 GMT)

Learn more

Hosted by The University of Hong Kong

 

 

We are looking forward to seeing you online!