跳至主内容

2008年 数学科学奖

弗拉基米尔.阿诺德,
路德维希.费迪夫

以表彰他们对数学物理广泛及富影响力的贡献

 

得奖人简介

弗拉基米尔.阿诺德,<br/>路德维希.费迪夫

贡献

弗拉基米尔.阿诺德(Vladimir Arnold)及安德雷柯尔.莫哥洛夫和于尔根.莫塞尔一起提出的「KAM理论」,对动力系统的稳定性,特别是对行星绕太阳运行的研究,作出了本质性的贡献。这个著名的理论为后继的发展提供了基础。

 

阿诺德也在古典力学和拓扑问题的关联方面提出了许多极具成果的观点,这其中包括最近才有重要进展的著名「阿诺德猜想」。

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖者获奖介绍

Mathematics and Physics have, over the centuries, had a long and close relationship. The modern era was ushered in by Galileo who said that the laws of nature were written in the language of mathematics. This was taken a giant step forward by Isaac Newton who developed and applied calculus to the study of dynamics. From that time on the whole theoretical framework of physics has been formulated in terms of differential equations.

 

Both of the 2008 Shaw Laureates in the Mathematical Sciences,Vladimir Arnold and Ludwig Faddeev, are part of this great tradition. Arnold's contributions are mainly in classical mechanics, emphasizing the geometrical aspects as developed over the centuries by Newton, Riemann and Poincare. Faddeev has been attracted more by the challenges of quantum theory and the algebraic formalism that is related to it.

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖者简介

弗拉基米尔•阿诺德 (Vladimir Arnold)

弗拉基米尔•阿诺德
(Vladimir Arnold) (
1937-2010)

弗拉基米尔•阿诺德 (Vladimir Arnold) (1937 - 2010) 生於乌克兰苏维埃社会主义共和国敖德萨。现任俄罗斯莫斯科Steklov数学研究院首席科学家及法国巴黎大学 – Dauphine教授。1959年毕业於莫斯科国立大学并於1961年获颁等同博士的学位(Candidate's Degree)。1965年始成为莫斯科国立大学教授,是俄罗斯科学院院士,是俄罗斯科学院院士及莫斯科数学学会主席。阿诺德教授于2010年6月3日在巴黎逝世,享年72岁。

 

2008年6月10日 香港

 

阿诺德教授於二零一零年六月三日在法国巴黎离世。

 

得奖者自传

 

 

 

 

Ludwig Faddeev

路德维希•费迪夫
(Ludwig Faddeev) (
1934-2017)

路德维希•费迪夫 (Ludwig Faddeev) 1934年生於苏联列宁格勒(现为俄罗斯圣彼得堡)。现任俄罗斯圣彼得堡Steklov数学研究院的欧拉国际数学研究所所长。1956年毕业於列宁格勒国立大学并於1963年获物理及数学科学博士学位。1967年始成为列宁格勒国立大学教授,1986-1990年曾任国际数学联盟总裁。费迪夫教授是俄罗斯科学院、美国国家科学院及法国科学院院士。

 

2008年6月10日 香港

 

费廸夫教授於二零一七年二月二十六日在俄罗斯圣彼得堡离世。

 

得奖者自传

 

 

 

 

得奖者特写

 

2008年度邵逸夫数学科学奖讲座

"Mathematics of Chaos" 由弗拉基米尔 • 阿诺德教授主讲

2008年度邵逸夫数学科学奖讲座

"What is Quantum Mathematical Physics" 由路德维希 • 费迪夫教授主讲

Skip to main content

The 2008 Prize in
Mathematical Sciences

Vladimir Arnold,
Ludwig Faddeev

for their widespread and influential contributions to Mathematical Physics

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Vladimir Arnold,<br/>Ludwig Faddeev

The Contribution

Vladimir Arnold, together with Andrei Kolmogorov and Jurgen Möser, made fundamental contributions to the study of stability in dynamical systems, exemplified by the motion of the planets round the sun. This work laid the foundation for all subsequent developments right up to the present time.

 

Arnold also produced extremely fruitful ideas, relating classical mechanics to questions of topology. This includes the famous "Arnold Conjecture" which has only recently seen important progress.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

Mathematics and Physics have, over the centuries, had a long and close relationship. The modern era was ushered in by Galileo who said that the laws of nature were written in the language of mathematics. This was taken a giant step forward by Isaac Newton who developed and applied calculus to the study of dynamics. From that time on the whole theoretical framework of physics has been formulated in terms of differential equations.

 

Both of the 2008 Shaw Laureates in the Mathematical Sciences,Vladimir Arnold and Ludwig Faddeev, are part of this great tradition. Arnold's contributions are mainly in classical mechanics, emphasizing the geometrical aspects as developed over the centuries by Newton, Riemann and Poincare. Faddeev has been attracted more by the challenges of quantum theory and the algebraic formalism that is related to it.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Vladimir Arnold

Vladimir Arnold (1937-2010)

Vladimir Arnold (1937 - 2010) was born in Odessa, Ukrainian SSR. He had been the Chief Scientist at Steklov Mathematical Institute in Moscow and an Honorary Professor at the University of Paris Dauphine, France. He obtained his first degree in 1959 at the Moscow State University, was awarded a Candidate's Degree (equivalent to a PhD) in 1961 and became a professor in 1965. He was a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences and Chairman of Moscow Mathematical Society. On June 2010, Professor Arnold passed away in Paris at the age of 72.

 

10 June 2008, Hong Kong

 

Professor Arnold passed away in Paris, France, on 3 June 2010.

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Ludwig Faddeev

Ludwig Faddeev (1934-2017)

Ludwig Faddeev, born 1934 in Leningrad (now St Petersburg), Russia, is a Director of the Euler International Mathematical Institute, Petersburg Department of Steklov Institute of Mathematics. He graduated from Leningrad State University in 1956 and became a Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences in 1963. He has been a Professor of Leningrad State University since 1967 and was the President of the International Mathematical Union (1986 - 1990). Professor Faddeev is a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the US National Academy of Sciences and the French Academy of Sciences.


10 June 2008, Hong Kong

 

Professor Faddeev passed away in Saint Petersburg, Russia, on 26 February 2017.

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Mathematical Sciences 2008

"Mathematics of Chaos" by Professor Vladimir Arnold

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Mathematical Sciences 2008

"What is Quantum Mathematical Physics" by Professor Ludwig Faddeev