跳至主内容

2017年 生命科学与医学奖

伊恩.吉本斯,
罗纳德.韦尔

以表彰他们发现微管相联的马达蛋白:驱动人类细胞和细胞内对生长、分裂和生存至为重要的活动的发动机。

 

得奖人简介

伊恩.吉本斯,<br/>罗纳德.韦尔

贡献

2017年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖平均颁予伊恩 • 吉本斯 (Ian R Gibbons)罗纳德 • 韦尔 (Ronald D Vale),以表彰他们发现微管相联的马达蛋白:驱动人类细胞和细胞内对生长、分裂和生存至为重要的活动的发动机。伊恩 • 吉本斯 是美国加州大学柏克莱分校客席研究员。罗纳德 • 韦尔是美国加州大学三藩市分校细胞与分子药理学教授暨美国霍华德休斯医学研究所研究员。

动物和植物细胞具有精细的缆线和丝状体网络,能以精密设计的高速系统编制细胞质内的物质输送,部份的细胞室在微米范围内作短距离移动,而其他部分,特别在神经细胞中,可由细胞体穿行到神经末梢的顶端,移动范围可从毫米到多达几厘米。最先发现的丝状体是由称为肌动蛋白的蛋白质组成,和肌肉细胞中呈现纹状体结构的蛋白质相同。肌动蛋白丝互相滑过,产生肌肉收缩,并由一种称为肌凝蛋白的马达蛋白来驱动。肌凝蛋白令肌动蛋白丝迅速滑动的现象,早在1940年代於肌肉组织内首先被发现,并在1970年代在其他真核细胞中再次被发现其可作为收缩活动基础。真核细胞还具有另一个网络,以一种称为微管蛋白的蛋白质结集成为圆柱形缆线,称为微管。微管就像运输带一样,让膜隔室在细胞内作长距离移动。此外细胞表面纤毛能以拍打的方式来增加液体在脉管例如血管和肠道内的流动,单真核细胞的鞭毛能促使其在液态环境下推进等,都是基於微管的作用。微管还组织染色体的正常分离和遗传,在细胞分裂期间参与染色体的复制、分裂和分配至子细胞。

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人获奖介绍

Animals and plants possess an elaborate network of intracellular filaments that organize the transport of the cell’s building blocks with the precision of a well-engineered motorway. Some cargoes being transported within cells move over short distances (a millionth of a meter) whereas other cargoes, particularly those in nerve cells, must traverse distances as large as a meter from the cell body to the tip of a nerve terminal. All of this transport is produced by molecular motors, proteins that themselves are less than one ten millionth of a meter in size.
 
The first such molecular motor system was discovered in muscle. The filaments are composed of a protein called actin. During muscle contraction, actin filaments slide past one another, powered by a motor protein called myosin. This action of myosin was first described in muscle tissues in the 1950s and was discovered in the 1970s to power contractile events in non-muscle cells as well. 

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人简介

Ian R Gibbons

伊恩.吉本斯
(Ian R Gibbons) (1931 - 2018)

伊恩.吉本斯 (Ian R Gibbons) 1931年於英国萨塞克斯郡海斯廷斯市 出生,现为美国加州大学柏克莱分校客席研究员。1954年和1957年於英国剑桥大学分别取得物理学学士学位和博士学位。他曾於1957年到1958年期间在美国宾夕法尼亚大学担任博士后研究员。於1958年至1967年间在美国哈佛大学工作,在生物系分别担任研究员、讲师及助理教授之职。之后受聘於美国夏威夷大学,担任生物物理学副教授,并於1969年升任教授直至1997年退休。随后受聘於加州大学柏克莱分校担任研究科学家,并於2009年起转聘为客席研究员。伊恩.吉本斯为英国伦敦皇家学会院士。


2017年5月23日  香港

 

吉本斯教授於二零一八年一月三十日在美国离世。

 

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

Ronald D Vale

罗纳德.韦尔 (Ronald D Vale)

罗纳德.韦尔 (Ronald D Vale) 1959年於美国加州荷里活出生,现为美国加州大学三藩市分校细胞与分子药理学教授。1980年於美国加州大学圣塔芭芭拉分校取得生物学和化学学士学位,并於1985年於美国史丹福大学获神经科学博士学位。之后在美国国家卫生研究院神经生物学实验室及伍兹霍尔海洋生物实验室担任研究员。於1986年加入美国加州大学三藩市分校担任助理教授,并於1992年担任副教授,1994年起担任教授。他於1999年成为美国霍华德休斯医学研究所研究员。他曾於2000年到2003年期间担任加州大学三藩市分校细胞生物学项目总监及於2004年到2010年期间担任细胞与分子药理学系主任。罗纳德.韦尔是美国国家科学院及美国人文与科学院院士。


2017年5月23日  香港

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

得奖人特写

 

2017年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖讲座

"Molecular Motors - the Engines of Life" 由伊恩 • 吉本斯教授及罗纳德 • 韦尔教授主讲

2017年度邵逸夫奖公开论坛

「2017邵逸夫奬得奬者 — 挑战、寻乐在科研」

Skip to main content

The 2017 Prize in
Life Science & Medicine

Ian R Gibbons,
Ronald D Vale

for their discovery of microtubule-associated motor proteins: engines that power cellular and intracellular movements essential to the growth, division, and survival of human cells.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Ian R Gibbons,<br/>Ronald D Vale

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 2017 is awarded in equal shares to Ian R Gibbons, Visiting Researcher, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley, USA, and Ronald D Vale, Professor, Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology Department, University of California, San Francisco and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA, for their discovery of microtubule-associated motor proteins: engines that power cellular and intracellular movements essential to the growth, division, and survival of human cells.
 
Animal and plant cells possess an elaborate network of cables and filaments that organize the cytoplasmic traffic of material with the precision of a well-engineered motorway. Some compartments of cells move over short distances on the range of microns whereas others, particularly in nerve cells, may traverse from the cell body to the tip of a nerve terminal, from millimeters to as much as many centimeters away. The first such filaments to be discovered are composed of a protein called actin, the same protein that provides the striatal structure of a muscle cell. Actin filaments slide past one another as the basis of muscle contraction powered by a motor protein called myosin. The action of the myosin motor to slide actin filaments was first described in muscle tissues back in the 1940s and was rediscovered in the 1970s as a basis for contractile events in all other cells that possess a nucleus, the eukaryotes. Eukaryotic cells also have another network based on a protein called tubulin, which assembles into a cylindrical cable called the microtubule. Microtubules represent the conveyor belt along which membrane compartments are moved over long distances in the cell and serve as the basis of the beating motion of cilia which line the surface of cells to promote fluid movement, for example in the blood vessels and intestines, and also the motion of flagella that propel single-cell eukaryotes in their fluid environments. Microtubules also organize the regular segregation and inheritance of chromosomes that duplicate, divide and then partition into daughter cells during cell division.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

Animals and plants possess an elaborate network of intracellular filaments that organize the transport of the cell’s building blocks with the precision of a well-engineered motorway. Some cargoes being transported within cells move over short distances (a millionth of a meter) whereas other cargoes, particularly those in nerve cells, must traverse distances as large as a meter from the cell body to the tip of a nerve terminal. All of this transport is produced by molecular motors, proteins that themselves are less than one ten millionth of a meter in size.
 
The first such molecular motor system was discovered in muscle. The filaments are composed of a protein called actin. During muscle contraction, actin filaments slide past one another, powered by a motor protein called myosin. This action of myosin was first described in muscle tissues in the 1950s and was discovered in the 1970s to power contractile events in non-muscle cells as well.  
 

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Ian R Gibbons

Ian R Gibbons (1931 - 2018)

Ian R Gibbons was born in 1931 in Hastings, Sussex, UK and is currently Visiting Researcher at the University of California, Berkeley, USA. He obtained his BA degree in Physics in 1954 and his PhD in 1957 from the University of Cambridge, UK. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania, USA (1957–1958). He then worked at Harvard University, USA (1958–1967), where he was successively Research Fellow, Lecturer and Assistant Professor in the Biology Department. He was an Associate Professor (1967–1969) and Professor of Biophysics (1969–1997) at the University of Hawaii, USA. He retired from the University of Hawaii in 1997 and moved to the University of California, Berkeley, where he has been working ever since as a Research Scientist (1997–2009) and then a Visiting Researcher (2009–). He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London.  


23 May 2017    Hong Kong

 

Professor Gibbons passed away in the United States on 30 January 2018.

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Ronald D Vale

Ronald D Vale

Ronald D Vale was born in 1959 in Hollywood, California, USA and is currently Professor of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), USA. He obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Biology and Chemistry from the University of California, Santa Barbara, USA in 1980 and received his PhD in Neuroscience from Stanford University, USA in 1985. He was a Staff Fellow at the Laboratory of Neurobiology, National Institutes of Health, and at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole (1985–1986). He then joined UCSF, where he was successively Assistant Professor (1986–1992), Associate Professor (1992–1994) and Full Professor (1994–). In 1999, he was appointed an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He served as the Director of the Cell Biology Program (2000–2003) and Chair of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology (2004–2010) at UCSF. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

 


23 May 2019    Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2017

"Molecular Motors - the Engines of Life" by Professor Ian R Gibbons and Professor Ronald D Vale

The Shaw Prize Public Forum 2017

“Meet The Shaw Laureates 2017 – the Challenges and the Joy of Doing Science”