跳至主內容

2016年 生命科學與醫學獎

艾德里安.伯德,
胡達.佐格比

以表彰他們發現一類基因和蛋白,這些蛋白能夠確認 染色體脫氧核醣核酸一種可以影響基因調控的化學改變; 並確立這基因的突變是發育障礙疾病蕾特氏症的主要成因。

 

得獎人簡介

艾德里安.伯德,<br/>胡達.佐格比

貢獻

2016年度邵逸夫生命科學與醫學獎頒予艾德里安.伯德 (Adrian P Bird)胡達.佐格比 (Huda Y Zoghbi),以表彰他們發現一類基因和蛋白,這些蛋白能夠確認染色體脫氧核醣核酸一種可以影響基因調控的化學改變;並確立這基因的突變是發育障礙疾病蕾特氏症的主要成因。基因的表達有一個精確的開關程序,因而可以達到人類在發育過程中所需要的精密協調。這個程序是通過對染色體上標誌的識別而進行的。 這些標誌包括一些脫氧核醣核酸及與脫氧核醣核酸結合的蛋白的 化學改變,它們能夠抑制或激活基因功能。艾德里安•伯德發現其中一種化學變化,當甲基在去氧核醣核酸中連接到C核苷酸殘基時, 基因會被抑制,反之缺少甲基便能開啟基因功能運作。他的研究發現能夠識別methylC並關掉基因功能的染色體結合蛋白。在1990年, 伯德發現五種不同的蛋白有這樣的結合特性,其中一種,稱為 MECP2,與能從組蛋白中去除乙醯化學連接的酶連結,而組蛋白是一個主要的染色體結構形成蛋白。染色體脫氧核醣核酸中的methylC以及缺乏乙醯基的組蛋白這兩種標籤,合作加強對基因抑制的信號,並且形成基因「表現型改變」的標記。胡達•佐格比作為一位經驗豐富的神經學專家,她的研究既完全獨立又看似是與表觀遺傳完全無關的生物問題,卻將伯德的methylC結合蛋白中的MECP2與具挑戰性屬神經系統紊亂的蕾特氏症,作出了一個意想不到的連繫。

蕾特氏症最先由安地列斯•蕾特於1966年所認定,是一種X染色體疾病。男性只有一條X染色體,如在唯一的一條X染色體上發生基因突變,會是致命的。由於女性有兩條X染色體,當基因突變在其中一條 X染色體發生,會引發獨特但多變的神經行為疾病。大約在10,000個女孩中會有1個患上這種疾病,她們由出生到6至18個月內,發育與常人無異,但當病發時,他們的智力發展會倒退,人會變得沉悶,並會表現出強迫性行為,如將手部來回搓動,最終失去雙手有意識的活動能力。現在已知這種基因突變會導致多種神經失調,包括躁鬱症和精神分裂症。在1999年,佐格比和她的同事發現,MECP2中發生基因突變是蕾特氏症的主要原因。她的發現令我們可從雜亂的症狀裡使用簡單直接的基因測試作診斷。佐格比和伯德的研究小組各自研究出蕾特氏症的遺傳病動物–老鼠–模型,證明蕾特氏症的主要症狀,可以通過在大腦製造一種特定的遺傳缺陷而產生。MECP2蛋白在神經細胞中數量很多,接近染色體結合組織蛋白的水平,因此,改變MECP2蛋白水平的平衡,對病患者的染色體結構有嚴重的影響。佐格比證明以腦深層刺激方式可治療一些學習和記憶的症狀,同樣的治療,亦曾用於柏金遜症的患者身上。相對於大部份神經系統疾病中出現不可逆轉的損毀情況下,伯德的研究小組發現注入methylC結合蛋白的活性基因可使蕾特氏症的動物模型修復正常。這發現能提供以基因編輯的新興技術來治療某些神經系統疾病的方法。這些互補性很強的研究再次證明基礎科學的力量,是揭示人類發展和疾病因由的重要基礎。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎者獲獎介紹

The expression of genes is titrated precisely to achieve the proper balance of functions in all human tissues, including the brain. Ratcheting expression up or down is orchestrated by proteins that bind to DNA, leading to suppression or activation of gene function, but it also depends on signals left on chromosomes, including chemical modifications of the DNA itself. Adrian Bird devised a method for mapping one such chemical mark along chromosomes, namely the presence of a methyl group on the cytosine residue in DNA. This revealed a pattern of methylated and non-methylated sites that helps demarcate genes that can be switched on from those that are to remain silent. One way that this works emerged from his discovery in the 1990s of five different proteins that depend on methylation for their binding to DNA and can silence genes. One member of the protein family, MeCP2, recruits a large complex of enzymes that chemically alter chromosome marks by removing an acetyl chemical tag from a major structural component of the chromosome known as histones. The inter-connection of these two chemical features – the presence of methylcytosine in chromosomal DNA and the loss of acetyl groups on histones – establishes ‘epigenetic’ marking of chromosomal regions causing gene activity to be turned down.
 
The basic molecular mechanisms uncovered by Bird’s research acquired new significance through completely independent work on a seemingly unrelated biological problem. Huda Zoghbi, a pediatric neurologist studying genetic disorders associated with developmental delay and intellectual disability, made an unexpected connection between one of Bird’s methyl-cytosine-binding proteins, MeCP2, and a challenging neurological disorder called Rett syndrome. 

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

Adrian P Bird

艾德里安.伯德 (Adrian P Bird)

艾德里安.伯德 (Adrian P Bird) 1947年於英國伍爾弗漢普頓出生,現為 英國愛丁堡大學布坎南遺傳學講座教授。1970年於蘇塞克斯大學取得生物化學理學士學位,並於1972年於愛丁堡大學取得生物化學博士學位。他曾在耶魯大學和蘇黎世大學擔任博士後研究員(1972–1975)。之後他加入MRC哺乳動物基因組研究中心(1975–1986),然後轉到維也納分子病理學 研究所擔任資深科學家(1987–1990)。自1990年起,他於愛丁堡大學擔任 布坎南遺傳學講座教授。他在愛丁堡協助創辦威康信託細胞生物學中心,並兼負中心主任一職(1999–2011)。隨後,他成為威康信託基金會理事 (2000–2010),其間於2007年至2010年為副主席。他是英國倫敦皇家學會、愛丁堡皇家學會及英國醫學科學院院士。

 


2017年5月23日  香港

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

Huda Y Zoghbi

胡達.佐格比 (Huda Y Zoghbi) 

胡達.佐格比 (Huda Y Zoghbi) 1954年於黎巴嫩貝魯特出生,現為美國貝勒醫學院兒科及分子與人類遺傳學教授、德克薩斯兒童醫院珍與丹•鄧肯神經科學研究院主任及美國霍華德休斯醫學研究所研究員。1975年於黎巴嫩 貝魯特美國大學取得生物學理學士學位,並於1979年於美國田納西州 納什維爾之梅哈里醫學院取得醫學博士學位。於1979年至1982年間, 她在貝勒醫學院和德克薩斯兒童醫院擔任駐院醫生,隨後在貝勒醫學 院從事博士後研究員(1982–1988)。之後她一直在貝勒醫學院兒科系任教,由助理教授(1988–1991)至副教授(1991–1994),自1994年起為教授。 她是美國國家 科學院及美國國家醫學院院士。


2016年5月31日  香港

 

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

得獎人特寫

 

2016年度邵逸夫生命科學與醫學獎講座

"From DNA Methylation to Brain Function" 由艾德里安.伯德教授主講

2016年度邵逸夫生命科學與醫學獎講座

"Rett Syndrome: From the Clinic to Genomes, Epigenomes, and Neural Circuits" 由胡達.佐格比教授主講

2016年度邵逸夫獎公開論壇

「2016邵逸夫奬得奬者 — 挑戰、尋樂在科研」

Skip to main content

The 2016 Prize in
Life Science & Medicine

Adrian P Bird,
Huda Y Zoghbi

for their discovery of the genes and the encoded proteins that recognize one chemical modification of the DNA of chromosomes that influences gene control as the basis of the developmental disorder Rett syndrome.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Adrian P Bird,<br/>Huda Y Zoghbi

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 2016 is awarded to Adrian P Bird and Huda Y Zoghbi for their discovery of the genes and the encoded proteins that recognize one chemical modification of the DNA of chromosomes that influences gene control as the basis of the developmental disorder Rett syndrome. Genes are turned on and off in a precise order to achieve the intricate balance needed for human development. This process is orchestrated by the recognition of landmarks on chromosomes, including some chemical modifications of the DNA and of proteins that bind to DNA that suppress or activate gene function. Adrian Bird discovered that one such chemical change, the attachment of a methyl group to the C residue in DNA, serves to mark some genes to be turned off whereas the absence of that methyl group allows genes to be turned on. His research uncovered chromosome-binding proteins that recognize the methylC to switch off gene function. In the 1990s, Bird discovered five different proteins that have this binding activity, one of which, MECP2, makes contact with an enzyme that removes an acetyl chemical tag from histones, a major chromosome structure-forming protein. These two tags, methylC in chromosomal DNA and the absence of acetyl groups on histones cooperate to reinforce an off signal on genes and contribute to the ‘epigenetic’ marking of genes. Working completely independently on a seemingly unrelated biological problem, Huda Zoghbi, a trained neurologist, made a surprising connection between one of Bird’s methylC binding proteins, MECP2, and a challenging neurological disorder, Rett syndrome.
 
Rett disease was first described by Andreas Rett in the 1966, as an X-linked disorder that manifests itself as lethality in males that have only one copy of the gene and as a distinctive but variable neurobehavioral disease in females that have one mutant copy of the gene. The disease affects approximately 1 in 10,000 girls who show normal development for 6 months to 18 months, but as the disease takes hold, they become withdrawn, regress in their mental development, exhibit compulsive behavior such as wringing of the hands, and eventually lose all purposeful use of the hands. Mutations in this gene are now known to cause a variety of neurologic disorders including bipolar disease and schizophrenia. In 1999, Zoghbi and colleagues discovered that mutations in MECP2 are the primary cause of Rett syndrome. Her discovery allowed a confusing set of symptoms to be turned into a straightforward diagnostic genetic test of the disease. The Zoghbi and Bird groups independently produced a genetic animal-mouse-model of the disease and showed that the creation of a brain specific genetic defect reproduced the major symptoms of the disease. The MECP2 protein is quite abundant in nerve cells, approaching the level of the major chromosome-binding histones; thus a change in the balance of the MECP2 protein is likely to have a profound effect on chromosome structure in disease patients. Zoghbi showed that some of the learning and memory symptoms could be treated with a form of deep brain stimulation that is used on patients with Parkinson’s Disease. In dramatic contrast to the irreversible damage associated with most neurologic disorders, Bird’s group showed that the animal model of Rett Syndrome could be restored to normal by reintroducing the active gene that codes for the missing methylC binding protein. This discovery suggests a path to treatment of certain neurologic disorders using the emerging technology of gene editing. These highly complementary studies show, once again, the power of basic science to uncover the fundamental basis of human development and disease.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

The expression of genes is titrated precisely to achieve the proper balance of functions in all human tissues, including the brain. Ratcheting expression up or down is orchestrated by proteins that bind to DNA, leading to suppression or activation of gene function, but it also depends on signals left on chromosomes, including chemical modifications of the DNA itself. Adrian Bird devised a method for mapping one such chemical mark along chromosomes, namely the presence of a methyl group on the cytosine residue in DNA. This revealed a pattern of methylated and non-methylated sites that helps demarcate genes that can be switched on from those that are to remain silent. One way that this works emerged from his discovery in the 1990s of five different proteins that depend on methylation for their binding to DNA and can silence genes. One member of the protein family, MeCP2, recruits a large complex of enzymes that chemically alter chromosome marks by removing an acetyl chemical tag from a major structural component of the chromosome known as histones. The inter-connection of these two chemical features – the presence of methylcytosine in chromosomal DNA and the loss of acetyl groups on histones – establishes ‘epigenetic’ marking of chromosomal regions causing gene activity to be turned down.
 
The basic molecular mechanisms uncovered by Bird’s research acquired new significance through completely independent work on a seemingly unrelated biological problem. Huda Zoghbi, a pediatric neurologist studying genetic disorders associated with developmental delay and intellectual disability, made an unexpected connection between one of Bird’s methyl-cytosine-binding proteins, MeCP2, and a challenging neurological disorder called Rett syndrome. 

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Adrian P Bird

Adrian P Bird

Adrian P Bird was born in 1947 in Wolverhampton, UK and is currently the Buchanan Professor of Genetics at the University of Edinburgh, UK. He obtained his Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry from the University of Sussex in 1970 and his PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Edinburgh in 1972. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Yale and University of Zurich (1972–1975). He joined the MRC Mammalian Genome Unit (1975–1986) and then moved to Vienna, where he served as a Senior Scientist in the Research Institute for Molecular Pathology (1987–1990). He has held the Buchanan Chair of Genetics at the University of Edinburgh since 1990. He helped create the Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology in Edinburgh and became its Director (1999–2011). Subsequently, he served as a Governor (2000–2010) of the Wellcome Trust including a term as Deputy Chairman (2007–2010). He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and Edinburgh and the Academy of Medical Sciences, UK.  
 


31 May 2016    Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Huda Y Zoghbi

Huda Y Zoghbi

Huda Y Zoghbi was born in 1954 in Beirut, Lebanon and is currently Professor of Pediatrics & Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine, Director of Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Texas Children’s Hospital and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA. She obtained her Bachelor of Science in Biology from American University of Beirut, Lebanon in 1975 and her MD from Meharry Medical College, Nashville, Tennessee, USA in 1979. She was a medical resident of Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children’s Hospital (1979–1982) and then a Postdoctoral Fellow at Baylor College of Medicine (1982–1988). From 1988, she was successively Assistant Professor (1988–1991), Associate Professor (1991–1994) and Professor (1994–) in the Department of Pediatrics of Baylor College of Medicine. She has been elected to the US National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Medicine, USA.


31 May 2016    Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2016

"From DNA Methylation to Brain Function" by Professor Adrian P Bird

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2016

"Rett Syndrome: From the Clinic to Genomes, Epigenomes, and Neural Circuits" by Professor Huda Y Zoghbi

The Shaw Prize Public Forum 2016

“Meet The Shaw Laureates 2016 – the Challenges and the Joy of Doing Science”