跳至主内容

2011年 生命科学与医学奖

朱尔斯.霍夫曼,
鲁斯兰.麦哲托夫,
布鲁斯.比尤特勒

以表彰他们发现先天性免疫系统的分子机制,解开了抵抗病原体的首道防线之谜。

 

得奖人简介

朱尔斯.霍夫曼,<br/>鲁斯兰.麦哲托夫,<br/>布鲁斯.比尤特勒

贡献

世界充满可致命的微生物,人类得以生存,免疫系统的作用至为关键。这个系统有两个主要部分:其一是为人熟知的「适应性」免疫系统,由人体曾经所受的感染或有效的疫苗启动,人体再受相同的微生物入侵时,系统即起作用。另一种是先天性免疫系统,在进化过程中历史早得多,但较为无闻。人体受到感染即马上起作用,出现发炎反应。两个系统对人类的生存都举足轻重。婴儿初生时若欠缺有效的适应性免疫系统,例如患有严重复合性免疫缺乏症,必须采取非常步骤,如进行骨髓移植手术,方可生存。欠缺正常运作的先天性免疫系统也可致命,先天性免疫系统主要部分发生突变的患者会反复出现严重感染,即是一例。

三位科学家获得2011年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖:法国斯特拉斯堡大学教授朱尔斯.霍夫曼(Jules A Hoffman)、耶鲁大学大卫.华莱士免疫学讲座教授鲁斯兰.麦哲托夫(Ruslan M Medzhitov)和斯克利普斯研究院遗传学学系主任布鲁斯.比尤特勒 (Bruce A Beutler)。三位科学家的开创性研究确定了先天性免疫系统的机制,也为其他人大量的研究工作打开局面,取得进展之大固不待言,而且可以预期研究成果将可应用,将有助提高免疫系统的整体机能。

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人获奖介绍

The immune system is central to the survival of humans in a world filled with potentially deadly microbes.  Immunity has two major components: (i) the familiar “adaptive” immune system, mobilized by previous infections or vaccines to protect us against subsequent encounters with specific microbes, and (ii) the less well-known, innate immune system, which is immediately mobilized in response to infection through inflammatory responses.  Both systems are essential for human survival.  Infants born without a functioning adaptive immune system, such as those with “severe combined immunodeficiency”, require heroic measures, such as bone marrow transplantation, if they are to survive.  But the lack of a normally functioning innate immune system is also life-threatening, as is seen in the repetitive severe infections in those with mutations in key components of the innate immune system.

The 2011 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded to Jules Hoffmann, Professor at the University of Strasbourg, Ruslan Medzhitov, David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University, and Bruce Beutler, Professor of Immunology, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.   These three scientists have done path-breaking work that established the mechanisms of the innate system and provide new avenues for drug design to improve the overall function of the immune system.  

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

 

得奖人简介

Jules A Hoffmann

弗朗兹—乌尔里奇.哈特尔 朱尔斯.霍夫曼 (Jules A Hoffmann)

朱尔斯.霍夫曼 (Jules A Hoffmann) 於1941年生於卢森堡,现为法国斯特拉斯堡大学教授。1969年获法国斯特拉斯堡大学博士学位,1978至2005年出任CNRS「昆虫的免疫反应和进化」9022 研究小组主任,1993至2005年为CNRS 设在斯特拉斯堡的分子及细胞生物学研究所主任。他曾任法国国家科学院院长 (2007−2008),并为多个科学院的院士,包括法国国家科学院、德国国家科学院、欧洲科学院、美国国家科学院、美国艺术与科学院和俄罗斯科学院。

 

 

2011年6月7日 香港

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

Ruslan M Medzhitov

鲁斯兰.麦哲托夫 (Ruslan M Medzhitov)

鲁斯兰.麦哲托夫 (Ruslan M Medzhitov) 1966年生於乌兹别克斯坦的首都塔什干,现任美国耶鲁大学大卫.华莱士 (David W Wallace) 免疫生物学讲座教授,和霍华德.休斯医学研究所研究员。他毕业於塔什干州立大学,1993年获国立莫斯科大学博士学位,1994至1999年在耶鲁大学医学院从事博士后研究,并於1999年升为助理教授,2003年成为教授,是美国国家科学院院士。

 

 

2011年6月7日 香港

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

Bruce A Beutler

布鲁斯.比尤特勒 (Bruce A Beutler)

布鲁斯.比尤特勒 (Bruce A Beutler) 1957年生於美国芝加哥,现任美国德克萨斯大学西南医学中心 Raymond and Ellen Willie 癌症研究卓越教授暨宿主防御遗传学中心主任。1976年毕业於加州大学圣地牙哥分校,取得学士学位,1981年获芝加哥大学医学博士学位,1983至1986年在洛克菲勒大学从事博士后研究并成为助理教授,於1990及1996年分别被委任为德克萨斯大学西南医学中心副教授和教授,2000年为加州拉霍亚斯克里普斯研究所 (The Scripps Research Institute) 教授,并於2007年被委任为遗传学学系主任,是美国国家科学院及医学研究院院士。

2011年6月7日 香港

 

得奖人自传

 

 

 

 

得奖人特写

 

2011年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖讲座

"The Drosophila Antimicrobial Defense: a Paradigm for Innate Immunity" 由朱尔斯•霍夫曼教授主讲

2011年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖讲座

"Host Defense Strategies" 由鲁斯兰•麦哲托夫教授主讲

2011年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖讲座

"The Hunt for the LPS Receptor: Mouse Genetics Then and Now" 由布鲁斯•比尤特勒教授主讲

Skip to main content

The 2011 Prize in
Life Science & Medicine

Jules A Hoffmann,
Ruslan M Medzhitov,
Bruce A Beutler

for their discovery of the molecular mechanism of innate immunity, the first line of defense against pathogens.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Jules A Hoffmann,<br/>Ruslan M Medzhitov,<br/>Bruce A Beutler

The Contribution

The immune system is central to the survival of humans in a world replete with potentially deadly microbes. This system has two major components: (i) the familiar “adaptive” immune system, which is mobilized by previous infections or vaccines to protect us against subsequent encounters with the microbe for which the vaccine is specific, and (ii) the less well known, but more ancient, innate immune system, which is rapidly mobilized in response to infection and results in inflammatory responses. Both systems are essential for human survival. Infants born without a functioning adaptive immune system, such as those with severe combined immunodeficiency, require heroic measures, such as bone marrow transplantation, if they are to survive. But the lack of a normally functioning innate immune system can also be life-threatening, as is seen in the repetitive severe infections in those with mutations in key components of the innate immune system.

The 2011 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded to Jules A Hoffmann, Professor at the University of Strasbourg, Ruslan M Medzhitov, David W Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University, and Bruce A Beutler, Chairman, Department of Genetics, The Scripps Research Institute. These three scientists have done path-breaking work that established the mechanisms of the innate system and have set the stage for a veritable torrent of work by others, leading to enormous progress and to the expectation of many practical applications of this knowledge to improve the overall function of the immune system.  

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

The immune system is central to the survival of humans in a world filled with potentially deadly microbes.  Immunity has two major components: (i) the familiar “adaptive” immune system, mobilized by previous infections or vaccines to protect us against subsequent encounters with specific microbes, and (ii) the less well-known, innate immune system, which is immediately mobilized in response to infection through inflammatory responses.  Both systems are essential for human survival.  Infants born without a functioning adaptive immune system, such as those with “severe combined immunodeficiency”, require heroic measures, such as bone marrow transplantation, if they are to survive.  But the lack of a normally functioning innate immune system is also life-threatening, as is seen in the repetitive severe infections in those with mutations in key components of the innate immune system.

The 2011 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine is awarded to Jules Hoffmann, Professor at the University of Strasbourg, Ruslan Medzhitov, David W. Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University, and Bruce Beutler, Professor of Immunology, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.   These three scientists have done path-breaking work that established the mechanisms of the innate system and provide new avenues for drug design to improve the overall function of the immune system.  

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Jules A Hoffmann 

Jules A Hoffmann

Jules A Hoffmann was born in 1941 in Luxembourg. He is a professor at the University of Strasbourg, France. He received his PhD from the University of Strasbourg in 1969. He was Director of the CNRS Research Unit 9022 “Immune Response and Development in Insects” from 1978 to 2005 and Director of the Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology of CNRS in Strasbourg from 1993 to 2005. He was President of the French National Academy of Sciences (2007 – 2008). He is a member of several Academies including the French National Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Academia Europaea, the United States National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Russian Academy of Sciences. 

 

 

7 June 2011  Hong Kong

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Ruslan M Medzhitov

Ruslan M Medzhitov

Ruslan M Medzhitov was born in 1966 in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. He is currently the David W Wallace Professor of Immunobiology at Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, USA. He received his undergraduate education at Tashkent State University and obtained his PhD from Moscow State University in 1993. He was a postdoctoral fellow at Yale University School of Medicine from 1994 to 1999, where he became assistant professor in 1999 and full professor in 2003. He is a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences.

7 June 2011  Hong Kong

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Bruce A Beutler

Bruce A Beutler

Bruce A Beutler was born in 1957 in Chicago, USA. He is currently Raymond and Ellen Willie Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research in Honor of Laverne and Raymond Willie, Sr, and Director, Center for Genetics of Host Defense, the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, USA. He received his BA from the University of California, San Diego, in 1976 and his MD from University of Chicago in 1981. Between 1983 and 1986, he was a postdoctoral fellow and then an Assistant Professor at Rockefeller University. In 1990 and 1996, he was appointed associate professor and professor at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. In 2000, he became a professor at the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California, USA, and in 2007, was appointed Chairman of the Department of Genetics at the same institution. He is a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

 

 

7 June 2011  Hong Kong

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2011

"The Drosophila Antimicrobial Defense: a Paradigm for Innate Immunity" by Professor Jules A Hoffmann

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2011

"Host Defense Strategies" by Professor Ruslan M Medzhitov

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Life Science and Medicine 2011

"The Hunt for the LPS Receptor: Mouse Genetics Then and Now" by Professor Bruce A Beutler