跳至主內容

2011年 天文學獎

恩里科.科斯塔,
傑拉爾德.菲什曼

以表彰他們領導天文衛星,證明了宇宙中最大能量的爆發 ─ 伽瑪射線暴 ─ 來自宇宙學距離。

 

得獎人簡介

恩里科.科斯塔,<br/>傑拉爾德.菲什曼

貢獻

1967年Vela系列人造衛星上的伽瑪探測器偶然探測到伽瑪射線暴,1973年Klebesadel等人正式發表發現結果。恩里科•科斯塔 (Enrico Costa) 和傑拉爾德•菲什曼 (Gerald J Fishman) 過去二十年的工作證明了伽瑪射線暴是來自宇宙,並為宇宙中最大能量的爆發。

伽瑪射線暴是一種在伽瑪射線波段的強爆發,爆發來自宇宙,持續時間幾秒到幾分鐘。在爆發期間,伽瑪射線暴的亮度極高,比宇宙中任何天體都要亮。我們現在知道伽瑪射線暴的源是處在遙遠的河外星系的距離上。之所以這麼亮,是因為它們發出的相對論粒子束非常窄,那些朝向地球的粒子束就被我們觀測到。我們也已知道至少存在兩類伽瑪射線暴。大質量恒星中心塌縮,會變成黑洞,引發某類罕見的超新星爆發,並導致時間較長的伽瑪射線暴;而兩顆中子星併合,則導致爆發時間較短的伽瑪射線暴。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎人獲獎介紹

Gamma ray bursts (GRBs) are intense flashes of gamma rays emanating from cosmic sources and lasting for a few seconds to minutes and were first detected serendipitously in 1967 by gamma ray detectors aboard the Vela satellites, and were announced by Klebesadel et al in 1973 the discovery of GRBs.  

To understand the nature of GRBs the first and key step is to determine the distance of GRBs from the Earth. The two experiments, namely Burst and Transient Source Explorer (BATSE) on Compton Gamma Ray Observatory (CGRO) and BeppoSAX, play a leading role in answering this key question.

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

Enrico Costa

恩里科•科斯塔 (Enrico Costa)

恩里科•科斯塔 (Enrico Costa) 1944年出生。1975年獲意大利羅馬大學物理學博士學位。他是意大利國家天體物理研究院設在羅馬的太空天體物理與宇宙物理研究所研究主任。

 

 

2011年6月7日 香港

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

Gerald J Fishman

傑拉爾德•菲什曼 (Gerald J Fishman)

傑拉爾德•菲什曼 (Gerald J Fishman) 1943年出生,1970年在美國萊斯大學太空科學系獲博士學位。他是美國國家宇航局馬歇爾太空飛行中心主任科學家。



2011年6月7日 香港

 

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

得獎人特寫

 

2011年度邵逸夫天文學獎講座

"Gamma-ray Bursts: The Largest and Most Distant Explosions in the Universe" 由恩里科 • 科斯塔博士主講

Skip to main content

The 2011 Prize in Astronomy

Enrico Costa,
Gerald J Fishman

for their leadership of space missions that enabled the demonstration of the cosmological origin of gamma ray bursts, the brightest sources known in the universe.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Enrico Costa,<br/>Gerald J Fishman

The Contribution

Gamma ray bursts (GRBs) were first detected serendipitously in 1967 by gamma ray detectors aboard the Vela satellites, and were announced by Klebesadel et al. in 1973. Work by Enrico Costa and Gerald J Fishman in the last two decades have demonstrated that GRBs are of cosmological origin, and are the brightest sources known in the universe.

GRBs are intense flashes of gamma rays emanating from cosmic sources lasting for a few seconds to minutes. During the flash, a GRB outshines any stars and any galaxies in the universe. We now know that the sources of GRBs reside in distant galaxies and that they appear so bright because they emit narrow beams of relativistic particles, and those that are observed happen to have these beams directed toward Earth. We also know that there are at least two distinct types of GRBs. The long-duration bursts are associated with rare types of supernova explosions and may be caused by the formation of a black hole at the centre of a collapsing massive star. The short-duration bursts may be caused by the merger of two neutron stars.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

Gamma ray bursts (GRBs) are intense flashes of gamma rays emanating from cosmic sources and lasting for a few seconds to minutes and were first detected serendipitously in 1967 by gamma ray detectors aboard the Vela satellites, and were announced by Klebesadel et al in 1973 the discovery of GRBs.  

To understand the nature of GRBs the first and key step is to determine the distance of GRBs from the Earth. The two experiments, namely Burst and Transient Source Explorer (BATSE) on Compton Gamma Ray Observatory (CGRO) and BeppoSAX, play a leading role in answering this key question.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Enrico Costa

Enrico Costa

Enrico Costa was born in 1944. He received a Laurea degree in physics from the University of Rome in 1975. He is Director of Research at the Institute of Space Astrophysics and Cosmic Physics (Rome) of the  National Institute of Astrophysics, Italy.

 

 

7 June 2011  Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Gerald J Fishman

Gerald J Fishman

Gerald J Fishman was born in 1943. He received a PhD in 1970 from the Department of Space Science, Rice University. He is Chief Scientist at the NASA – Marshall Space Flight Center, USA.


7 June 2011  Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture in Astronomy 2011

"Gamma-ray Bursts: The Largest and Most Distant Explosions in the Universe" by Dr Enrico Costa