跳至主內容

2010年 天文學獎

查理斯・班尼特,
萊曼・佩治,
戴維・斯佩格

以表彰他們領導威爾琴森微波各向異性探測器(WMAP)實驗的傑出貢獻;使其能夠精確測量宇宙學基本參數,包括宇宙的幾何、年齡和組成。

 

得獎人簡介

查理斯・班尼特,<br/>萊曼・佩治,<br/>戴維・斯佩格

貢獻

1967年,Arno Penzias 和 Robert Wilson 第一次測量到來自太空的 3 K 微波輻射。它很快就被證實為宇宙創生後留下的遺跡,其後隨宇宙膨脹而受到紅移。Penzias 和 Wilson 因此而獲得 1978 年諾貝爾物理學獎。天文學家馬上意識到宇宙微波背景輻射提供了有關宇宙結構和演化的極重要的資訊,可以用它探測宇宙在大爆炸後不到 40 萬年時物質和能量的分佈。隨後,眾多實驗紛紛跟進。2006 年諾貝爾物理學獎授給 John Mather 和 George Smoot,表彰他們用 COBE 衛星測量宇宙微波背景輻射譜並探測到其各向異性。


2001 年威爾琴森微波各向異性探測器衛星(WMAP)升空,它對全天宇宙微波背景亮度分佈進行了極為精確的高分辨的成像觀測。其測量溫度變化的靈敏度達到百萬份之一。由查理斯‧班尼特(Charles L Bennett),萊曼‧佩治(Lyman A Page Jr) 和戴維‧斯佩格 (David N Spergel) 領導的 WMAP 小組,通過分析這些微小的變化,以前所未有的精確度,測量了宇宙基本參數,包括宇宙的幾何,年齡和物質組成。即:宇宙的幾何是平坦的,它的年齡是137.5 ± 1.3 億年。宇宙是由暗能量(佔72.1 ± 1.5 %)、暗物質  (佔23.3 ± 1.3 %)和重子物質(佔4.6 ± 0.1 %)組成。WMAP 的測量結果開創了精確宇宙學的時代,對天文學、宇宙學和物理學產生重大影響。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎人獲獎介紹

How did the universe begin?  What makes up the universe?  Why does the sky look the way it does?  Humankind has been asking these kinds of questions for millennia, but these questions are now subject to direct observational measurements.  Measurements have revealed that we live in an expanding universe and that the expansion is becoming faster and faster.   

It is now firmly established that our universe has been expanding and cooling for billions of years, ever since the Big Bang.  To be precise, the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) space mission has determined that the age of the universe is thirteen billion, seven hundred million years.  This has been recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the most accurate determination of the age of the universe.

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

Ronald W P Drever

查理斯・班尼特 (Charles L Bennett)

查理斯・班尼特 (Charles L Bennett) 1956年出生,1984年獲美國麻省理工學院物理學博士學位,現任美國約翰‧霍普金斯大學物理與天文學教授、美國科學院院士。

   
2010 年5月27日 香港

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

Kip S Thorne

萊曼・佩治 (Lyman A Page Jr)

萊曼・佩治 (Lyman A Page Jr) 1957年出生,1989年獲美國麻省理工學院物理學博士學位,現任美國普林斯頓大學 Henry DeWolf Smyth 物理學講座教授、美國科學院院士。

 

2010 年5月27日 香港

 

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

David N Spergel

戴維・斯佩格 (David N Spergel)

戴維・斯佩格 (David N Spergel) 1961年出生,1985年獲美國哈佛大學天文學博士學位,現任美國普林斯頓大學天體物理科學系主任及 Charles A Young 天文學講座教授、美國科學院院士。

 

2010 年5月27日 香港

 

得獎人自傳

 

 

 

 

得獎人特寫

 

2010年度邵逸夫天文學獎講座

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" 由查理斯 • 班尼特教授主講

2010年度邵逸夫天文學獎講座

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" 由萊曼 • 佩治教授主講

2010年度邵逸夫天文學獎講座

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" 由大衛 • 斯佩格教授主講

Skip to main content

The 2010 Prize in Astronomy

Charles L Bennett,
Lyman A Page Jr,
David N Spergel

for their leadership of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) experiment, which has enabled precise determinations of the fundamental cosmological parameters, including the geometry, age and composition of the universe.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Charles L Bennett,<br/>Lyman A Page Jr,<br/>David N Spergel

The Contribution

In 1967 Arno Penzias and Robert Wilson made the first definitive detection of 3 K microwave radiation from the sky. The radiation was soon confirmed as the redshifted afterglow from the creation of the universe. For this discovery Penzias and Wilson won the 1978 Nobel Prize in Physics. This Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) radiation allows astronomers to probe the distribution of matter and energy at a time slightly less than 400,000 years after the Big Bang. Soon after its discovery, astronomers recognized that accurate measurements of the CMB could provide vital information regarding the structure and evolution of the universe. Many experiments have been done since then, confirming this vision. The 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to John Mather and George Smoot for their measurements of the spectrum and anisotropy of the CMB with the Cosmic Background Explorer (COBE) experiment.

Launched in July 2001, the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) has made an extraordinarily detailed, all-sky high-resolution map of the brightness of the cosmic microwave background. It is sensitive to temperature variations at the level of 1 part per million. By analyzing these tiny variations, the WMAP team, led by Bennett, Page and Spergel, has measured the fundamental cosmological parameters, including the geometry, age and composition of the universe to unprecedented precision. We now know that the universe is geometrically flat, its age is 13.75 ± 0.13 billion years, and that it is composed of dark energy (72.1 ± 1.5 %), dark matter (23.3 ± 1.3 %) and baryons (4.6 ± 0.1 %). The WMAP measurements have opened the era of precision cosmology and have had an enormous impact across astronomy, cosmology and physics.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

An Essay on the Prize

How did the universe begin?  What makes up the universe?  Why does the sky look the way it does?  Humankind has been asking these kinds of questions for millennia, but these questions are now subject to direct observational measurements.  Measurements have revealed that we live in an expanding universe and that the expansion is becoming faster and faster.   

It is now firmly established that our universe has been expanding and cooling for billions of years, ever since the Big Bang.  To be precise, the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) space mission has determined that the age of the universe is thirteen billion, seven hundred million years.  This has been recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the most accurate determination of the age of the universe.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Ronald W P Drever

Charles L Bennett

Professor Charles L Bennett was born in 1956. He received a PhD in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1984. He is currently a Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the Johns Hopkins University and a Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences.    

27 May 2010, Hong Kong

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Kip S Thorne

Lyman A Page Jr

Professor Lyman A Page Jr was born in 1957. He received a PhD in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1989. He is currently the Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics at Princeton University and a Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences.

 

27 May 2010, Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

David N Spergel

David N Spergel

Professor David N Spergel was born in 1961. He received a PhD in Astronomy from Harvard University in 1985. He is currently the Charles A Young Professor of Astronomy and Chair of the Department of Astrophysical Sciences of Princeton University and a Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences.


27 May 2010, Hong Kong

 

Autobiography

 

 

 

 

Feature Story

 

The Shaw Prize Lecture on Astronomy 2010

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" by Professor Charles L Bennett

The Shaw Prize Lecture on Astronomy 2010

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" by Professor Lyman A Page Jr

The Shaw Prize Lecture on Astronomy 2010

"Taking the Universe's Baby Picture with WMAP" by Professor David N Spergel