Skip to main content

Press Release

The Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences 2007 will be awarded in equal shares to Robert Langlands and Richard Taylor.


Robert Langlands initiated a unifying vision of mathematics that has greatly extended the legacy of the mathematics of previous centuries, connecting prime numbers with symmetry. This unification, which grew out of the Reciprocity Theory of Gauss and Hilbert, is now referred to as the Langlands program. It provides a direction of research which has guided mathematicians over the past forty years and will continue to do so for years to come.


Richard Taylor has made many extraordinary contributions to modern number theory, and more specifically to the framework of the Langlands program, where he has, in recent years, solved several important problems that had been long-standing conjectures.

Mathematical Sciences Selection Committee
The Shaw Prize

11 September 2007, Hong Kong