跳至主内容

组织

架构

 

 

邵逸夫奖由邵逸夫奖基金会有限公司管理及执行。基金会成立一个四层架构的组织专司其事。

 

 

组织架构

邵逸夫奖基金会有限公司於2002年11月成立,以奖项形式颁予在学术研究、科学研究及应用上有杰出贡献,或为人类带来无限福祉的候选人。


邵逸夫奖基金会於2003年5月获香港税务局批准成为慈善机构。

 

董事会成员

陈伟文先生 (主席)
蔡梅芝女士
李洁仪女士
Mr Jerry Rajakulendran

 

始创成员

 

邵方逸华女士

邵方逸华女士 (1934–2017)

邵方逸华女士是已故「邵逸夫奖」创办人邵逸夫爵士的夫人,曾任邵逸夫慈善信托基金和邵氏基金(香港)有限公司主席,以及邵逸夫奖基金会有限公司主席。邵方逸华女士在中国上海出生,是香港传媒及娱乐业界的知名人士。也是邵氏集团旗下公司的主席。她多年来担任电视广播有限公司副主席、董事总经理,直至二零一二年三月,转任非执行董事。

 

邵方逸华女士於二零一七年十一月二十二日在香港养和医院安详逝世,享寿八十三岁。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
马临教授

马临教授 (1924–2017)

马临教授曾任香港中文大学(中大)逸夫书院校董会首任主席暨资深顾问及中大荣休讲座教授。马临教授於1964年加入香港中文大学化学系,1965年任高级讲师,1972年升教授。1973年生物化学系成立,马教授被委任为创系讲座教授。1978至1987年间任大学校长。

 

马教授是一位杰出的生物化学科学家,其著作主要在蛋白质化学领域。曾获英国、日本和德国颁授勋衔,更获中国(包括香港和澳门)和海外多间大学颁授荣誉学位。他曾任香港基本法起草委员会委员暨两个小组(教科文小组及区旗、区徽小组)的召集人。

 

马教授於二零一七年十月十六日在香港威尔斯亲王医院安详逝世,享年九十三岁。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
 杨振宁教授

杨振宁教授

香港中文大学博文讲座教授
北京清华大学教授

杨振宁教授为当代著名物理学家, 曾任纽约州立大学石溪分校爱因斯坦物理学讲座教授,1999 年退休。杨教授 1986 年起兼任香港中文大学博文讲座教授,1998 年起任北京清华大学教授。

 

杨振宁教授屡获奖誉,包括诺贝尔物理学奖 (1957) ,润福德奖 (1980) ,美国国家科学奖 (1986) ,富兰克林奖 (1993) ,鲍尔奖 (1994) ,和费塞尔国王奖 (2001) 。杨教授是中国科学院,台湾中央研究院,美国科学院,英国伦敦皇家学会,俄罗斯科学院和日本学士院院士。

 

他在芝加哥大学取得博士学位 (1948) 后,对现代物理学的贡献极大,包括抽象理论和唯象分析。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide

荣誉顾问

 

简悦威教授

简悦威教授

美国加州大学医学系
罗氏.达蒙血液学讲座教授

简悦威教授现任美国加州大学三藩市分校罗氏达蒙血液学讲座教授,多年来致力研究基因及细胞疗法,为医治镰状细胞贫血及地中海贫血等疾病的世界权威。简教授在香港出生,香港大学医学院毕业,曾受训於香港玛丽医院,再往美国深造。

 

简教授将脱氧核糖核酸分析贡献至巨,发现人类脱氧核糖核酸多态性,并广泛应用在遗传学和人类疾病诊断,他获颁多个国际奖项,包括亚伯雷斯克奖 (Albert Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award) ,盖尔德纳基金会国际奖 (Gairdner Foundation International Award) 和邵逸夫奖。他是伦敦皇家学院的首位华人院士,也是美国国家科学院院士,中央研究院院士,第三世界科学院院士和中国科学院院士。简教授获多间大学颁授荣誉学位,包括意大利 Caglieri 大学,香港中文大学,香港大学及香港公开大学。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide

理事会

 

杨纲凯教授

杨纲凯教授

主席

香港中文大学物理学荣休教授

杨纲凯教授为理论物理学者,现任香港中文大学物理学荣休教授。1965 至 1972 年就读美国加州理工学院,主修物理,1969 年获学士学位,1972 年获博士学位。自 1973 年起任职香港中文大学,曾任物理系主任、理学院院长、研究院院长及副校长。1999 年被选为美国物理学会院士,2004 年被选为国际欧亚科学院院士。他曾任香港特别行政区大学教育资助委员会委员、香港研究资助局主席、亚太物理联会秘书长和副会长。他亦是香港桂冠论坛委员会董事会委员。杨教授长期以来从事理论物理学研究,包括基本粒子、场论、高能唯象、耗散系统及其本征态展开,及对光学、引力波等开放系统的应用。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
陈伟文先生

陈伟文先生

委员

邵逸夫慈善信托基金顾问委员会成员
邵氏基金会(香港)主席
邵逸夫奖基金会主席
邵氏旗下公司董事总经理

陈伟文先生於1994年1月加入邵氏集团。自2017年12月起出任邵氏旗下54家本地及海外公司的董事总经理,并获委任为邵氏基金会和邵逸夫奖基金会主席,他自2012年起担任邵逸夫慈善信托基金顾问委员会成员。

 

陈先生在香港出生并接受教育,其后负笈英国,取得荣誉文学士学位和荣誉建筑学学士学位,并成为英国皇家建筑师学会及香港建筑师学会会员。他亦是英国建筑师注册管理局和香港建筑师注册管理局的注册建筑师。

 

陈先生是香港中文大学逸夫书院校董会成员、中华人民共和国北京大学名誉校董和香港桂冠论坛委员会董事会委员,并曾於2003至2016年间担任将军澳医院管治委员会委员 。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
陈伟仪教授

陈伟仪教授

委员

香港中文大学副校长(策略发展)
香港中文大学敬文书院院长
香港中文大学医学院生物医学教授
香港中文大学组织工程与再生医学研究所所长

陈伟仪教授现为香港中文大学副校长、敬文书院院长、香港中文大学医学院生物医学教授,以及香港中文大学组织工程与再生医学研究所所长。陈伟仪教授在 1974 年於香港中文大学以一级荣誉毕业,并於1977年在美国佛罗里达大学取得哲学博士学位。陈教授随后在美国华盛顿州乔治城大学出任儿科系教授,亦为美国马利兰州国立卫生研究院(NIH)国立儿童健康与人类发育研究所(NICHD)发育基因组学实验室主管及首席研究员,直至2009年6月应邀出任香港中文大学生物医学学院院长。

 

陈伟仪教授专注研究发育基因组学以及人类内分泌失衡疾病的分子遗传学,并曾荣获1988年的梅里克杰出生物医学研究奖,及2008年的美洲华人遗传学会会长奖;现任多份科研学报的编委,并为数个区域性及国际性的研究基金组织担任项目评审。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
程伯中教授

程伯中教授

委员

香港中文大学信兴高等工程研究所所长
香港中文大学卓敏电子工程学讲座教授

程伯中教授现为香港中文大学信兴高等工程研究所所长及卓敏电子工程学讲座教授。他先后於 1977 年和 1981 年在英国利物浦大学获得电机工程与电子学学士学位 (一级荣誉) 和博士学位。程教授身兼电机及电子工程师学会、英国电机工程师学会、香港工程师学会和香港工程科学院院士。现为香港兽医管理局主席和纳米及先进材料研发院董事局主席。程教授在 2000 年获颁 IEEE 第三千禧年奖,於 2010年选入香港工程师学会名人堂,并获颁香港特别行政区铜紫荆星章,於2017年获颁银紫荆星章。程教授从事的研究包括自适应数字信号处理,时间延迟估计和目标定位,盲信号估计与分离,自动语音识别,说话人辨认/确认及语音合成,以及无线通信中的高级信号处理技术等。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
徐遐生教授

徐遐生教授

委员

美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校
物理系
荣休教授

徐遐生教授是世界知名的理论天体物理学家,获颁2009年度邵逸夫天文学奖。他出生於中国昆明,6岁时移居美国。他是美国国家科学院及美国人文与科学院院士、美国哲学学会会员和香港城市大学高等研究院高级研究员。他於1998年获聘为美国加州大学伯克莱分校的「大学教授」,自加州大学成立以来,只有35位学系职员获颁此荣誉。他於2002至2006年期间担任台湾清华大学校长。 随后,他担任美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校物理系特聘教授, 於2009年退休后转到台湾中央研究院从事研究气候变化工作,并成立一家名为Astron Solutions Corporation的私营公司。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准。徐教授照片由美国纽约州立大学石溪分校提供。)

Hide

评审会

 

徐遐生教授

徐遐生教授

主席

美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校
物理系
荣休教授

徐遐生教授是世界知名的理论天体物理学家,获颁2009年度邵逸夫天文学奖。他出生於中国昆明,6岁时移居美国。他是美国国家科学院及美国人文与科学院院士、美国哲学学会会员和香港城市大学高等研究院高级研究员。他於1998年获聘为美国加州大学伯克莱分校的「大学教授」,自加州大学成立以来,只有35位学系职员获颁此荣誉。他於2002至2006年期间担任台湾清华大学校长。 随后,他担任美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校物理系特聘教授, 於2009年退休后转到台湾中央研究院从事研究气候变化工作,并成立一家名为Astron Solutions Corporation的私营公司。

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准。徐教授照片由美国纽约州立大学石溪分校提供。)

Hide
杨纲凯教授

杨纲凯教授

副主席

香港中文大学物理学荣休教授

杨纲凯教授为理论物理学者,现任香港中文大学物理学荣休教授。1965 至 1972 年就读美国加州理工学院,主修物理,1969 年获学士学位,1972 年获博士学位。自 1973 年起任职香港中文大学,曾任物理系主任、理学院院长、研究院院长及副校长。1999 年被选为美国物理学会院士,2004 年被选为国际欧亚科学院院士。他曾任香港特别行政区大学教育资助委员会委员、香港研究资助局主席、亚太物理联会秘书长和副会长。他亦是香港桂冠论坛委员会董事会委员。杨教授长期以来从事理论物理学研究,包括基本粒子、场论、高能唯象、耗散系统及其本征态展开,及对光学、引力波等开放系统的应用。

 

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
莱因哈德 ・ 根舍教授

莱因哈德 · 根舍教授

委员

德国马克斯普朗克地外物理研究所

所长

莱因哈德 · 根舍教授,1952 年德国出生,现任德国马克斯普朗克地外物理研究所所长,自 1988 年始获委任为德国慕尼克大学荣誉教授,并於 2017 年始为加州大学伯克莱分校研究学院教授。
 
1978 年根舍教授获取波恩大学博士学位,於美国马萨诸塞州剑桥市哈佛史密森天体物理中心从事博士后研究 (1978–1980) ,曾任加州大学伯克利分校太空科学实验室副研究天文学家及物理学副教授 (1981–1985) ,及后担任物理学教授 (1985–1986) 。
 
根舍教授曾获多个奖项,其中包括牛顿 · 雷斯 · 皮尔斯奖 (Newton Lacy Pierce Prize 1986) 、莱布尼茨奖 (Leibniz Prize 1990) 、詹森奖 (Janssen Prize 2000) 、巴尔赞奖 (Balzan Prize 2003) 、皮特里奖 (Petrie Prize 2005)、邵逸夫天文学奖 (Shaw Prize in Astronomy, 2008) 、央斯基奖 (Jansky Prize 2010) 、卡尔 · 史瓦西奖章 (Karl Schwarzschild Medal 2011)、克拉福德天文学奖 (Crafoord Prize 2012) 、布拉赫奖 (Tycho Brahe Prize 2012) 、英国皇家天文学会赫歇尔奖章 (Herschel Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society 2014) 、德国星级十字勋章 (Great Cross of Merit (with Star) of Germany 2014) 、巴黎天文台名誉博士 (Honorary Doctorate (Dr.h.c.), Paris Observatory OPSPM 2014) 及以色列技术工程学院哈维奖 (Harvey Prize in Science and Technology, Technion Israel Institute of Technology 2014) 。
 
根舍教授获颁欧洲科学院院士及德国科学院院士、慕尼黑巴伐利亚科学院院士、法国科学院外籍院士、美国国家科学院院士、西班牙皇家科学院外籍院士及英国皇家学会院士,并获颁德国科学与艺术功勋勋章。
 
(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
邦妮 ・ 巴斯勒教授

邦妮 · 巴斯勒教授

委员

美国普林斯顿大学

分子生物学系主任及

Squibb讲座教授

邦妮 · 巴斯勒教授现为霍华德休斯医学研究所研究员,暨美国普林斯顿大学分子生物学系主任及Squibb讲座教授。她是美国国家科学院院士、美国国家医学院院士和美国人文与科学院院士。她的主要研究是使用细菌於细胞间作为通讯的分子机制,这个过程称为群体感应。她的发现正是以破坏群体感知调解的沟通来开发抗击细菌的新型治疗方法。她於2015年获得邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖。她是英国伦敦皇家学会和美国哲学会的会士。她於2010–2016年被奥巴马总统提名出任国家科学委员会委员。该委员会负责监督国家科学基金会,在国家科学、数学和工程学的众多研究和教育项目中作出优先执行的决定。

(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide
Professor W Timothy GOWERS

威廉· 蒂莫西· 高尔斯爵士

委员

英国剑桥大学纯数与数理统计

皇家学院研究讲座教授暨

劳斯 · 鲍尔数学系主任

威廉 · 蒂莫西 · 高尔斯爵士 1963 年出生於英国马尔堡。从 1973 年至 1976 年,他是剑桥 King's College 合唱团唱诗班歌手,及后,他往伊顿公学就读。他曾於剑桥大学三一学院修读数学,并在贝洛博洛巴斯教授的指导下取得博士学位。1989 年威廉爵士在三一学院从事研究,两年后在伦敦大学担任讲师。1995 年他回到剑桥三一学院先后成为讲师及教授。他现为皇家学院研究讲座教授暨劳斯 · 鲍尔数学讲座教授。威廉爵士在他的事业初期他曾破解一些巴拿赫空间理论中的老问题,其中的两个问题源自巴拿赫本人。其后,他首次以量化证明施米列迪定理并於后期研究加性组合数学。1998 年他的研究被肯定并获颁菲尔兹奖。
(注:所有中文译本,皆以英文本为准)

Hide

Skip to main content

Organization

The Structure

 

 

The Shaw Prize is managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation, with a four-tier organization.

 

 

The Structure of Organization

The Shaw Prize Foundation Limited was incorporated in November 2002 with the object of awarding prizes to those persons who have achieved distinguished contributions in academic and scientific research or applications or have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind.

It was granted charitable status by the Hong Kong Inland Revenue Department in May 2003.

 

Board of Directors

Mr Chan Wai Man, Raymond (Chairman)
Ms Meage Choy
Ms Jenny Li
Mr Jerry Rajakulendran

Founding Members

 

Mrs Mona SHAW

Mrs Mona SHAW (1934–2017)

Mrs Mona Shaw, wife of the founder, the late Sir Run Run Shaw, was Chairperson of The Sir Run Run Shaw Charitable Trust, The Shaw Foundation Hong Kong Limited and The Shaw Prize Foundation. A native of Shanghai, China, she was an established figure in the Hong Kong media and entertainment industry and Chairperson of the Shaw Group of Companies. She was for many years Deputy Chairperson and Managing Director of Television Broadcasts Limited, until she became a Non-Executive Director.

 

Mrs Shaw passed away peacefully at Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital on 22 November 2017 at the age of 83.

Hide
Professor Lin MA

Professor Lin MA (1924–2017)

Professor Lin Ma was the first Chairman and Senior Advisor of the Board of Trustees of Shaw College and Emeritus Chair Professor of the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK).  Prof Ma joined the Chemistry Department of CUHK in 1964, rising to Senior Lecturer in 1965 and Reader in 1972.  He was appointed Founding Chair in Biochemistry in 1973.  He was Vice-Chancellor of the University from 1978 to 1987.

 

Professor Ma was a distinguished biochemist and published widely on protein chemistry.  He received honours from Great Britain, Japan and Germany, and honorary degrees from universities in China including Hong Kong and Macau, and from universities abroad.  He was the Convenor of two sub-groups of the Hong Kong Basic Law Drafting Committee: Education, Science and Arts, and Hong Kong Flag and Emblem.

 

Professor Ma passed away peacefully at Prince of Wales Hospital in Hong Kong on 16 October 2017, aged 93.

Hide
Professor Chen-Ning YANG

Professor Chen-Ning YANG

Distinguished Professor-at-large, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and
Professor, Tsinghua University, Beijing

Professor Chen-Ning Yang, an eminent physicist, was Albert Einstein Professor of Physics at the State University of New York at Stony Brook until his retirement in 1999. He has been Distinguished Professor-at-large at The Chinese University of Hong Kong since 1986, and Professor at Tsinghua University, Beijing since 1998.

 

Professor Yang has received many awards: Nobel Prize in Physics (1957), Rumford Prize (1980), US National Medal of Science (1986), Benjamin Franklin Medal (1993), Bower Award (1994) and King Faisal Prize (2001). He is a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Academia Sinica in Taiwan, the US Academy of Sciences, the Royal Society of London, the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Japan Academy.

 

Since receiving his PhD from the University of Chicago in 1948, he has made great impacts in both abstract theory and phenomenological analysis in modern physics.

Hide

Council

 

Professor Kenneth Young

Professor Kenneth YOUNG

Chairman

Emeritus Professor of Physics
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Professor Kenneth Young is a theoretical physicist, and is Emeritus Professor of Physics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He pursued studies at the California Institute of Technology, USA, 1965–1972, and obtained a BS in Physics (1969) and a PhD in Physics and Mathematics (1972). He joined The Chinese University of Hong Kong in 1973, where he has held the position of Chairman, Department of Physics and later Dean, Faculty of Science, Dean of the Graduate School and Pro-Vice-Chancellor. He was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1999 and a Member of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences in 2004. He was also a Member of the University Grants Committee, HKSAR and Chairman of its Research Grants Council. He served as Secretary and then Vice-President of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies. He is a Director of the Hong Kong Laureate Forum. His research interests include elementary particles, field theory, high energy phenomenology, dissipative systems and especially their eigenfunction representation and application to optics, gravitational waves and other open systems.

Hide
Mr CHAN Wai Man, Raymond

Mr CHAN Wai Man, Raymond

Member

Member of Board of Advisor, Sir Run Run Shaw Charitable Trust
Chairman of The Shaw Foundation Hong Kong
Chairman of The Shaw Prize Foundation and
Managing Director of Shaw Group of Companies

Mr Raymond Chan joined the Shaw Group in January 1994 and in December 2017, assumed the role of Managing Director of the Shaw Group of Companies, totalling fifty-four and situated locally and overseas. He was at the same time appointed Chairman of the Shaw Foundation and the Shaw Prize Foundation. Since 2012, he has been a Member on the Board of Advisers of Sir Run Run Shaw Charitable Trust.

 

Born and educated in Hong Kong, he continued his studies in the United Kingdom gaining BA (Hons) and B Arch (Hons) and became a Member of the Royal Institute of British Architects and Hong Kong Institute of Architects.  He is also a registered architect under the Architect Registration Board in both UK and Hong Kong.

 

He is a Member of the Board of Trustees of Shaw College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong and an Honorary Trustee of Peking University, People's Republic of China.  Mr Chan is also a Director of the Council of the Hong Kong Laureate Forum.  From 2003 to 2016 he served as a member of the Governing Committee of Tseung Kwan O Hospital.

Hide
Professor Wai-Yee CHAN

Professor Wai-Yee CHAN

Member

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Development)
Master of CW Chu College
Professor of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine 
Director of the Institute for Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Professor Wai-Yee Chan is Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Master of CW Chu College, Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Director of the Institute for Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), Hong Kong. Professor Chan obtained his BSc (First Class Honours) from CUHK in 1974 and PhD from the University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, USA in 1977. Prior to joining CUHK in June of 2009, he was Professor of Pediatrics, Georgetown University, Washington, DC, and Head and Principal Investigator, Section on Developmental Genomics, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, USA.  

 

His expertise is in developmental genomics and molecular genetics of endocrine disorders. He received the 1988 Merrick Award for Outstanding Biomedical Research and the 2008 Presidential Award from the Association of Chinese Geneticists in America. He serves on the editorial boards of a number of international scientific journals and on review panels of regional and international research funding agencies.

Hide
Professor Pak-Chung CHING

Professor Pak-Chung CHING

Member

Director of Shun Hing Institute of Advanced Engineering
Choh-Ming Li Professor of Electronic Engineering
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Professor Pak-Chung Ching is Director of Shun Hing Institute of Advanced Engineering and Choh-Ming Li Professor of Electronic Engineering of The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He received his Bachelor in Engineering (First Class Honours) and PhD from the University of Liverpool, UK, in 1977 and 1981 respectively. Professor Ching is a Fellow of IEEE, IET, HKIE and HKAES. He is Chairman of the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nano and Advanced Materials Institute. Professor Ching was awarded the IEEE Third Millennium Award (2000) and the Bronze Bauhinia Star (2010) and Silver Bauhinia Star (2017) of the HKSAR; he was admitted to the HKIE Hall of Fame (2010). His research interests include adaptive digital signal processing, time delay estimation and target localization, blind signal estimation and separation, automatic speech recognition, speaker identification/verification and speech synthesis, and advanced signal processing techniques for wireless communications.

Hide
Professor Yuet-Wai KAN

Professor Yuet-Wai KAN

Member

Louis K Diamond Professor of Hematology
Department of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
USA

Professor Yuet-Wai Kan, the Louis K Diamond Professor of Hematology at the University of California, San Francisco, USA, is a world-leading expert on the use of gene and cell therapy to treat sickle cell anemia and thalassemia. Professor Kan was born in Hong Kong, graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Hong Kong and trained at Queen Mary Hospital, Hong Kong, before going to the United States for further studies.

 

Professor Kan's contributions to DNA diagnosis and his discovery of human DNA polymorphism have found wide applications in genetics and human diseases. For his work, he has received many national and international awards including the Albert Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award, the Gairdner Foundation International Award and the Shaw Prize. He is the first Chinese elected to the Royal Society, London, and is a Member of the US National Academy of Sciences, Academia Sinica, the Third World Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He has received honorary degrees from the University of Caglieri, Italy, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The University of Hong Kong and The Open University of Hong Kong.

Hide
Professor Frank H SHU

Professor Frank H SHU

Member

Professor Emeritus
Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego
USA

Professor Frank H Shu is a Shaw Laureate for his work in theoretical astrophysics. He was born in Kunming, China and emigrated to the United States at the age of six. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Senior Fellow in the Institute for Advanced Study at City U, Hong Kong. While at Berkeley, in 1998 he was appointed as University Professor, an honor bestowed on only 35 faculty members in the UC system since its founding. From 2002 to 2006 he served as President of National Tsing Hua University in Taiwan. He then joined the Physics Department at the University of California at San Diego. In 2009 he retired from UCSD to work on climate change at Academia Sinica and to spin out a private company, Astron Solutions Corporation.
(Photo of Prof Frank H Shu©Stony Brook University)

Hide

Board of Adjudicators

 

Professor Frank H SHU

Professor Frank H SHU

Chairman

Professor Emeritus
Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego
USA

Professor Frank H Shu is a Shaw Laureate for his work in theoretical astrophysics. He was born in Kunming, China and emigrated to the United States at the age of six. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Senior Fellow in the Institute for Advanced Study at City U, Hong Kong. While at Berkeley, in 1998 he was appointed as University Professor, an honor bestowed on only 35 faculty members in the UC system since its founding. From 2002 to 2006 he served as President of National Tsing Hua University in Taiwan. He then joined the Physics Department at the University of California at San Diego. In 2009 he retired from UCSD to work on climate change at Academia Sinica and to spin out a private company, Astron Solutions Corporation.
(Photo of Prof Frank H Shu©Stony Brook University)

Hide
Professor Kenneth YOUNG

Professor Kenneth YOUNG

Vice Chairman

Emeritus Professor of Physics
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Professor Kenneth Young is a theoretical physicist, and is Emeritus Professor of Physics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He pursued studies at the California Institute of Technology, USA, 1965–1972, and obtained a BS in Physics (1969) and a PhD in Physics and Mathematics (1972). He joined The Chinese University of Hong Kong in 1973, where he has held the position of Chairman, Department of Physics and later Dean, Faculty of Science, Dean of the Graduate School and Pro-Vice-Chancellor. He was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1999 and a Member of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences in 2004. He was also a Member of the University Grants Committee, HKSAR and Chairman of its Research Grants Council. He served as Secretary and then Vice-President of the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies. He is a Director of the Hong Kong Laureate Forum. His research interests include elementary particles, field theory, high energy phenomenology, dissipative systems and especially their eigenfunction representation and application to optics, gravitational waves and other open systems.

Hide
Professor Reinhard GENZEL

Professor Reinhard GENZEL

Member

Director

Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics

GERMANY

Professor Reinhard Genzel, Born in 1952 in Germany, is the Director and Scientific Member at the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany, Honorary Professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich since 1988 and Professor in the Graduate School, UC Berkeley (since 2017).
 
He received his PhD from the University of Bonn in 1978. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, Massachusetts (1978–1980), an Associate Professor of Physics and Associate Research Astronomer at Space Sciences Laboratory (1981–1985) and a Full Professor of Physics at UC Berkeley (1985–1986).
 
Professor Genzel received many awards, including Newton Lacy Pierce Prize (1986), Leibniz Prize (1990), Janssen Prize (2000), Balzan Prize (2003), Petrie Prize (2005), the Shaw Prize in Astronomy (2008), Jansky Prize (2010), Karl Schwarzschild Medal (2011), Crafoord Prize in Astronomy (2012) and Tycho Brahe Prize (2012), Herschel Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society (2014), Great Cross of Merit (with Star) of Germany (2014), Honorary Doctorate (Dr.h.c.), Paris Observatory OPSPM (2014), Harvey Prize in Science and Technology, Technion Israel Institute of Technology (2014).
 
He is a member the European Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina, the Bavarian Academy of Sciences. He is also a Foreign Member/Foreign Corresponding Member/Associate of the Academy of Sciences of France, the US National Academy of Sciences, the Royal Spanish Academy, and the Royal Society of London. He is also Member of the Order Pour Le Merite for Science and Arts of the Republic of Germany.

Hide
Professor Randy W SCHEKMAN

Professor Randy W SCHEKMAN

Member

HHMI Investigator and

Professor of Cell and Development Biology

Department of Molecular and Cell Biology

University of California, Berkeley

USA

Professor Randy W Schekman is a Professor in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. When he joined the faculty at Berkeley, he developed a genetic and biochemical approach to the study of eukaryotic membrane traffic, which reveals how proteins enter and move between membrane-bound compartments of cells.

 

Among the honours he has earned are the Gairdner International Award, the Albert Lasker Award in Basic Medical Research in 2002, and the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2013 – which he shared with James Rothman of Yale University and Thomas Südhof of Stanford University – for their discoveries of the mechanism regulating vesicle traffic, a major cellular transport system. From 2011-2019, served as founding Editor-in-Chief of the open access journal, "eLife", sponsored by the HHMI, The Wellcome Trust/UK and the Max Planck Society. Beginning in 2017, Schekman was appointed director of program to identify and support basic research on Parkinson's Disease (https://parkinsonsroadmap.org).

Hide
Professor W Timothy GOWERS

Professor W Timothy GOWERS

Member

Royal Society Research Professor and Rouse Ball Chair in Mathematics

Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics

University of Cambridge

UK

Professor Timothy Gowers was born in Marlborough, England, in 1963. From 1973 to 1976 he was a chorister in the choir of King’s College, Cambridge, after which he went as a scholar to Eton College. He studied mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he also did his PhD, under the supervision of Bèla Bollobàs. In 1989 he became a research fellow at Trinity, moving to University College London two years later as a lecturer. In 1995 he returned to Cambridge, and Trinity, where he was first a Lecturer and then a Professor. He is currently a Royal Society Research Professor and also holder of the Rouse Ball Chair in Mathematics. In the early part of his career he solved some old problems in Banach space theory, including two of Banach himself. He then discovered the first quantitative proof of Szèmèrèdi's theorem and has subsequently worked in additive combinatorics. For this work he was awarded a Fields Medal in 1998.

Hide