Skip to main content

Announcement Press Conference 2020





Welcome Address by Professor Kenneth Young,
Chairman of The Shaw Prize Council


We are pleased to bring to you the Shaw Prize Awards for 2020.


The Shaw Prize was established in the year 2002 by Mr Run Run Shaw with the support and help of Mrs Mona Shaw, and is now managed under the Shaw Prize Foundation.


I think most of those present know the history, and the marvelous work done by the late Mr and Mrs Shaw, and now carried on by the Foundation. 


Since 2004 the Prize has been awarded annually for distinguished and significant achievements in the three scientific disciplines, namely, Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of US$1.2 million.


The Shaw Prize is an international award, dedicated to honouring individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.  


Recipients of the Prize are all internationally acclaimed scholars and scientists. Thanks to the effort of members of the Selection Committees and colleagues of the Foundation, the Prize has built up its prestige worldwide within a short period of time. 


We look forward to greater success of the Prize in the years to come.