Skip to main content

Announcement Press Conference 2016

View more photos and video




Welcome Address by Professor Kenneth Young,
Member of The Shaw Prize Council


Good afternoon, ladies and gentlemen. Thank you for coming to this Press Conference, and thank you for your help in bringing the announcement of the Shaw Prize 2016 to the world at large.


The Shaw Prize was established in the year 2002 to promote and foster scientific research worldwide. Since 2004 the Prize has been awarded annually for distinguished and significant achievements in the following three scientific disciplines: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences. Each Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award. The monetary award has been increased from US$1 million to US$1.2 million starting from this year. 


The Shaw Prize is an international award, dedicated to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications, and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind. This is the thirteenth year in which the Prize is awarded. 


Recipients of the Prize are all internationally acclaimed scholars and scientists. We are grateful that members of the Selection Committees and the Board of Adjudicators have contributed in an enthusiastic and professional manner, to ensure that the selection and adjudication processes are of the highest standard; those rigorous processes and the excellent selections over the years have given the Shaw Prize attention and prestige worldwide within a short period of time.